Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My family requests this christmas eve. I use only crab. Add a little garlic when you saute the onions in the butter. Made sure I use a good wine since you can really taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I made this Today it was very good...I did make these changes... double everything in the recipe if you want to serve 4 and use real Sherry. This needs to cook on low at least 2 hours to really come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mary

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This bisque was absolutely delicious. I did make some of the modifications suggested by others. My first suggestion is that if you are serving this soup to more than 2 people, double the recipe - it doesn't make much. I used only crab, since I had been looking for a recipe for crab bisque. I had 8 oz. of crab meat and made a double batch. It was more than enough crab. I added 1 clove crushed garlic to the melted butter and I used Sherry instead of wine (about 1/4 cup for the double batch). I also used some paprika as suggested by another reviewer. I used 2 tbsp and it was a bit much. Next time, I will cut it back to 1 tbsp, but I do like the paprika with this recipe. I ended up having to thin it out a bit with some chicken broth, since it became quite thick as it cooked. My husband and I both thought it was delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I made this because it had such great reviews but I really didn't care for it at all. I followed the recipe almost exactly - except I followed a reviewer's suggestion of adding extra seasoning and sherry instead of white wine. It tasted way too sweet, like a bowl full of cream. We ate the shrimp... I'm so glad I've had good seafood bisque before. If this had been my first bowl I never would have eaten it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Delicious. I make this every christmas eve. It is requested by my family and there are never any leftovers. Everyone loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Sinai, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This bisque was absolutely AMAZING!! The flavor was great and even my best friends 9 year old loved...he all but licked his bowl clean, not only will I make this again, but I can't wait until I get a chance to. The only thing that I changed was doubling the amt of crab and shrimp. Absolutely wonderful!! Thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bone Ami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Clayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
VERY GOOD!!! I only had crab (no shrimp) and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I think stock was left out of the recipe by mistake. I made two cups of stock out of the shells and added the boullion to it, then slowly stirred it into the roux and allowed it to reduce. The final texture was not as thick as the original recipe but the portion size went much further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was such a disappointment. I should have known better when I saw that the recipe called for a half cup of wine to only 1-1/2 cups of cream. It ended up being way too thick and with an overwhelming taste of wine which was most unpleasant. If you still insist on making this, at least reduce both the wine and the flour by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I love this recipe. I haven't personally made it, which is why I love it more. My husband is the one that cooks it, and I have to say...his cooking isn't always the best, but he has made this recipe his own. He changes it a bit, doesn't add all of the half and half, and turns it into sauce. He then pours it on top of Linguine noodles, and makes it an awesome pasta dish. I absolutely love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States