Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Made this for my partner one night and he polished off everything! Made it a second time for my sister and brother-in-law and they couldn't stop asking for seconds! It's now a fave requested dish during dinners at our place now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
It was very good. I did add some cooked potato and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe!! I agree with another review that said if they had tried this before having bisque soups at restaurants they would have never tried another bisque soup. I have nothing good to say about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Like a few other folks, I added a bit more half & half because I had a lot more crabmeat and shrimp than the recipe asked for. This was delicious. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is really good. My sweetie and I use to live in Maryland and have had Bisque from several very good restaurants. This could easily compete but as so many have already said, it is not enough for 6. I doubled it and it was just enough for 4. I added Paprika, saute'd shallots and scallions to the recipe and used only 1/2 the wine. It was great. We all loved it with some cheddar biscuits and will sleep very well tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CamilleYoung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I tried this recipe, and it was a hit! I got some crab cake (very lumpy) from a Greek restaurant. Since I didn't like the strong smell of the crab, I decided to make it a bisque. While I was cooking it according to this recipe, I did notice that the portion of ingredients should be adjusted to match personal taste. First, I would use half or 3/4 of the chicken bullion - it was way too salty. At the end, I have to salvage the soup by adding 1 cup of milk to dilute the salty taste. Second, I also recommend to replace 1/2 cup of the half and half cream to milk, so that it won't be that fattening (and it still tastes just as good as the restaurant). Third, I recommend to use bigger(21-25 shrimps per pound), raw, tail-on shrimps. I got them from Costco, and for some reason, the smaller shrimps just don't have the seafood taste. Fourth, I add a stick of chopped celery in the bisque. Fifth, I also add one bay leaf. Sixth, I cooked everything for a total of 30 minutes. This is a really good recipe, and you just have to sample it whenever you add another ingredient to match it to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Yummy! Awesome soup for a cold Fall/Winter dinner. Crusty rolls and a nice salad, and you will have a perfect, easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Not as good as I expected but still tasted nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I love this recipe. The only thing I changed was to add the wine at the beginning so that the alcohol taste cooks out and the richness of the soup is enhanced as the wine cooks. I also added some paprika and used 100% crab meat. This is DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I used chicken broth instead of wine. So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States