Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was such a disappointment. I should have known better when I saw that the recipe called for a half cup of wine to only 1-1/2 cups of cream. It ended up being way too thick and with an overwhelming taste of wine which was most unpleasant. If you still insist on making this, at least reduce both the wine and the flour by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I love this recipe. I haven't personally made it, which is why I love it more. My husband is the one that cooks it, and I have to say...his cooking isn't always the best, but he has made this recipe his own. He changes it a bit, doesn't add all of the half and half, and turns it into sauce. He then pours it on top of Linguine noodles, and makes it an awesome pasta dish. I absolutely love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Made this on CHristmas Eve for our hot soup (a tradition) and it was a success! Everyone loved it, especially the chunks of crab and shrimp. I had to quadruple the recipe for my party, however, and it still wasn't enough. Thanks for the recipe and we'll definitely keep this on our list for next year's party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
My husband and I LOVE shrimp bisque, so I tripled the recipe. I added garlic to the roux, and added the shrimp at the very end, after the soup was bubbly, and let it cook until pink. The soup was a tad bland so I added a good sprinkling of Old Bay, and it was perfect. Be sure to saute the onions until they are very, very soft; I didn't cook them long enough so I used my immersion blender to puree the soup before I added the shrimp. I would say the recipe still needs tweaking, but it's a very good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I think i expected more from a highly rated bisque..followed the recipe to the penney on first batch...tasted "moldy" from the white wine and frankly could have gotten the same effect from instant country gravy with crab and shrimp thrown it..2nd batch, no shrimp no white wine just tasteless....there was a recipe i used off this site with cream cheese and papricka that was so much more flavorful than this...sorry I can't rate this any higher its not justified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was excellent and I even made it with 2% milk since I didn't have any cream on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wavy437

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Excellent flavor. Very easy to make. I had a pound of crab so I increased the half and half by an extra half cup and the wine by and extra 1/4 cup. Very thick, rich, delicious, and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This had a good flavor, but it was too rich for us to eat very much of it. I'm still looking for a recipe that resembles bisque I've had in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was really tasty. i would say 2 tbsp of flour was too much, 1 would have done just fine. I had to add water to thin it out. HOWEVER it tasted wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States