Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
FANTASTIC!!! However one important thing to note-the serving size is not 6. I should have known better when looking at the measurements of the liquid ingredients-it's only 2 cups. I made a few changes-added garlic, used black pepper rather than white, used whole milk since I was out of half & half, substituted extra milk for wine and only used shrimp. The results were wonderful! As other reviewers noted, this would be excellent as a pasta sauce-maybe thicken it up a bit for a seafood lasaqna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I only used this recipe as a guide for ingredients. I used fresh crab meat, cooking sherry, white wine a little bit of heavy whipping cream and the majority of 1/2 1/2. I didn't measure anything and did everything to taste. It was really good for a homemade soup in minutes. I also did not add the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I loveeeed this recipe!! I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I made a few changes. I used scallops instead of shrimp, about 1/4 cup Chardonnay, 2 tsp cornstarch instead of flour, and half a can of sweet corn. It came out beautifully!! I will def use this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My boyfriend is a big seafood fan and really enjoyed this. We made it using left over king crab and didn't add any shrimp - the other reviews said both were too much. I added a little paprika for color and a little extra flour to thicken it more (as my boyfriend requested) but he decided it would be better the original way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This recipe as written, is not to my liking I am sorry to say. The addition of the wine just ruined it, but prior to that it was tasting really good. B/c of this I decided to make it again...The 2nd time around instead of wine I used only 1/8 cup of cream sherry, I also took many of the other reviewers suggestions & added 1t of paprika, black pepper instead of white, cornstarch instead of flour, old bay instead of salt and used only crab, and added a few pinches of parsely. With these changes I give it a solid 5 stars. I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddGypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was wonderful! Most definitely will make this again. We did follow the base recipe with only a few minor substitutions. To use what we had in the house instead of running to the store to get ingredients, we used canned crab and evaporated milk instead of half and half. We also used Zatarain's creole seasoning instead of salt and some tricolor peppercorns instead of black pepper. We did not measure the white wine, just splashed in what was leftover from the bottle we were drinking. Overall we loved this: It was hearty and flavorful, and wonderful with hot homemade bread. Perfect for this chilly autumn day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Per some of the other reviewers, I doubled the recipe and omitted the wine completely. I added some Old Bay and cayenne. I also added some half n half since it was very thick. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
have cooked this several times. great recipe. added extra seasoning (i.e. old bay and cajun seasoning). also, turned it into a pasta dish by adding a little parmesan, romano, and asiago cheeses. great as bisque or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Very Good! I only used 1/4 cup of white wine as suggested by others. I don't like things spicy at all so the pepper was a little much for me, but tolerable. I might put a little less than 1/4 teaspoon next time. It does taste like restaurant creamy crab soup though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Delicious! I do add additional wine or even water just to make it go further. It taste just like the lobster bisque I had in Key West.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States