Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I like to go exactly by the recipe the first time I cook anything but I just could not with this recipe because I felt it would be too salty and over powered with wine, so I left out the salt because the bouillon is pretty salty. I started out with 2 tablespoons of wine then added one more tablespoon. Next time I make this I will use a low sodium bouillon because I am going to sauté my shrimp in garlic and salted butter and add very last just before serving; the shrimp was just bland. Forgot---also will use green onions instead of minced white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent & easy. Fat-free half & half worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
We ate this one last night. I am not sure how to rate this one. It wasnt horrible. I did eat a bowl but it wasnt great either. I guess I am on the fence with this one. I wouldnt make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very good however, personally would use less bouillon or omit the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made this for Xmas Eve. Thank you much for this easy recipe. Everyone said it was excellent and had more tham helping! Yummy for your tummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I altered the recipe a bit to suit my needs, like swapped out the shrimp for scallops.... I quadrupled the butter, flour and crab and did everything else to taste.... I sauteed the onions in the butter, added flour, about 1 qt of chick broth and 1 qt of 1/2 and 1/2, 5 pototes that I cut and cooked, for thickening, 1/2 bag of frozen corn that I cooked salt and pepper and 1/2 of the crab and pureed everything. Then I added the remaining (lump) crab and corn, scallops, and wine. I may have added more broth at that point too, and then added bay seasoning to taste. The end result was a delicious soup that my friends and family enjoyed for New Years eve....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
easy to make and had a rich taste. I found the soup a bit salty. I think it was the bullion. next time I will use chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy K.
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was such a rich and delicious meal. I served this on Christmas Eve with homemade wheat dinner rolls. I ended up having to quadruple the recipe, because it didn't seem like it was going to be enough, but in the end I did have some leftover. Also, as suggested by other reviewers, I did add some extra seasoning (Old Bay and red pepper flakes, etc.). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
FANTASTIC!!! However one important thing to note-the serving size is not 6. I should have known better when looking at the measurements of the liquid ingredients-it's only 2 cups. I made a few changes-added garlic, used black pepper rather than white, used whole milk since I was out of half & half, substituted extra milk for wine and only used shrimp. The results were wonderful! As other reviewers noted, this would be excellent as a pasta sauce-maybe thicken it up a bit for a seafood lasaqna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I only used this recipe as a guide for ingredients. I used fresh crab meat, cooking sherry, white wine a little bit of heavy whipping cream and the majority of 1/2 1/2. I didn't measure anything and did everything to taste. It was really good for a homemade soup in minutes. I also did not add the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States