Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was a fantastic recipe! I took the suggestions of others and added Old Bay seasoning and cream cheese. I also used garlic instead of onion and imitation crab instead of real. To keep the calories down I used fat free half and half. Definitely a recipe you can play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Made this recipe exactly as described and it was delicious. Follow the recipe, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was pretty good. I used paprika to add the pink color to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Excellent starter recipe. I doubled it and used 8oz crab & 1 lb shrimp. I added some cajun seasoning and about 4 oz of cream cheese cut into tiny cubes, melted into the soup. My husband raved, and he NEVER raves!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was excellent. I subbed 1/2 c. milk for part of the half and half, and it was still very rich, FULL of seafood, and could probably be watered down with more milk to extend the servings. I used 1/2 pkg of imitation crab, and loaded up on the shrimp. After reading the reviews regarding portion size, I went ahead and made it for 6, and it fed my husband (who had seconds), my toddler and myself with a small portion left over. It was not enough for 6 adults unless made into appetizer servings. We had it for dinner with some crusty french bread. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This soup is truly tasty and great! I subsituted the half and half for milk to lighten up the calories a bit. Absolutely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Wonderful recipe. Very easy to prepare. I substitututed 1/4 cup sherry for the wine and used a bit more butter. I also minced the shrimp. Everyone loves this recipe. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Sorry, but I thought this was awful. I prepared according to directions, except I halved the wine. To try to make it better, I added extra half and half, milk, two american cheese slices, and multiple seasonings (cajun, garlic, bay leaf, black pepper, parsley). Only after all this, did I find it edible. I wouldn't even call it a good base recipe. The wine taste was still strong, even after adding all the extra ingredients and only using half the amount called for. I was hoping for a quick and easy recipe that was good. It was quick and easy, but not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
The stars are rated by my daughter, who thinks that this was "one of the best seafood things that she has ever had." I did a bit of doctoring - worked with what was in the pantry - so it was mock crab, 7-pepper seafood blend (which has salt, so I didn't use add'l salt, and the mock crab has a bit of salt and sweetness that you don't find in regular crab). I also used evaporated milk, which I always have on hand to replace cream (which I DON'T always have on hand) - and then added a little more milk to make proportions. I also used sherry - another thing I keep on hand for cooking. So, this was a perfect soup because it takes well to substitutions ... and is easy ... and fast ... and good. This is one of those things that you keep on hand for when you have just about all the stuff and want to start a meal with a special first course. Still waiting for husband to get home and put it on the table - he's working really late at the office every day this week - this will be a special way to start supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This is a great soup to make in a hurry. I used a chicken soup base instead of the granules, sherry instead of wine and added a little hot sauce. We really enjoyed it with some corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States