Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was great. I made it the second time without the shrimp, just more crab, and liked it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I made this Feb. 10/07 for a dinner party for 12 and it was a hit! I served it as an appetizer with fresh bread. Thanks to the reviews, I omitted the shrimp, loaded up on the frozen crab meat, added crushed garlic (cooked down in the butter), black pepper instead of white, cornstarch instead of flour sherry instead of white wine. I used lactose free milk instead and a dollop of half and half. I forgot to add the chicken base but found that I didn't need it. Thanks a million!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I want to say that last night, 2/10/07, I surprised my husband with an early Valentine's dinner by making this delightful dish and I must say that I chose the right recipe. I.... I don't know what else to say but much praise for this dish. YUM!!! YUM!!! YUM!!!Y-U-U-UM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
So good! I didn't have any fresh crabmeat so I just doubled the shrimp and ended up with a rich and creamy shrimp bisque! I did substitute a half cup of the half and half with heavy cream too. I've never made a bisque before, so thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I have to say that this recipe is delicious and darned near fool-proof! I took almost EVERYone's suggestions, and it still came out glorious. I used fresh Jonah crabmeat and minced shrimp (although I now agree with other reviewers who said, "Use one or the other seafood, not both." The textures do not mesh well, at least not for me.) I increased both the butter and flour to 3T, and added one pressed clove of garlic as the butter melted on low heat (caution: do NOT allow the garlic to turn brown; it becomes bitter, and will ruin the whole thing) and stirred in the flour as the garlic became fragrant. Added a little onion powder and some parsley mixed in the flour, and used chicken base, as that is what I had on hand. I split the difference with the wines; I added 1/4 cup of each! After the second adding of half and half, I customized the seasonings for our taste -- paprika for colour, Old Bay, and a dash of cayenne. Fabulous, fabulous, FABULOUS recipe! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
It was great. I forgot to get the wine but I added a can of tomato soup. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was a wonderful base to start experimenting with. We tried this recipe last night. After some changes we think we have found the perfect cream of crab soup. Being Marylanders we know cream of crab! Our changes – no salt, we used black pepper instead of white, 1 tablespoon of onion, leave out the shrimp – we tried it with and without, ¼ pound crab meat is enough, used 1/8 cup regular sherry (not cooking sherry) instead of the wine which really doesn't go with crab like sherry does and Old Bay sprinkled on top. With these changes it really is as good as the cream of crab soup you find at the best Maryland restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENDAST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was so easy, quick and simply fabulous!!! The reviews were helpful, I added 1t seafood seasoning, 1T additonal butter and flour, 1/3c fat free milk to dilute. I also used 1/4c of sherry instead of the whitewine and a crushed a bullion cube instead of the granulated bullion. This would impress any guest, a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was incredible! I modified to reduce fat by using 3/4 c half and half, 1 1/4c skim milk and 1/4 c wine and the thickness or flavor was perfectly fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I added my own twist to this recipe, but it taste great on it's own. I'm a garlic lover so I added garlic and thinned the recipe down a little bit with chicken stock. My family ate the whole pot. It goes really well with a garlic toasted baguette to dip or put in as croutons in your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Utt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States