Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Delicious! Made exactly as the recipe says. I used chardonnay for the white wine and no fat 1/2 and 1/2. Still thick and yummy without the calories of real 1/2 1nd 1/2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Tasted Great. I added beef bouillion since that's all that I had and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eriset

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ranson, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
i used soy half-n-half and crab only. i added some old bay, paprika, and cayenne -- also browned 2 cloves of garlic in the butter as recommended. left out the chicken bouillon. this recipe is simple and yummy but i feel it still lacks something. i will definitly make it again, and continue to experiment. thank goodness for soy rpoducts so that i can enjoy this kind of food again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I have made this twice now and my wife and I love it. First time we used immitation crab it was ok, but the second time we used real crab meat and it was better. Only change I made was I left the bouillon out both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Fallon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
My husband thought it was wonderful. I thought it was a tad bit too rich. But still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dextersmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I followed this recipe to the letter- using Chardonnay for my white wine- and essentially ended up with wine soup. Terrible! It was also way too thin for a bisque. I feel if the wine was omitted or cut back to 1-2 tbs. I might have liked it. What a waste of all that beautiful seafood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Awesome!!! Great recipe!! I did take several ideas from other reviews into consideration. I did not use wine or sherry, I did use chicken stock instead. I only used crab meat. I also found this recipe doubles nicely. Family all agrees this is a "keeper" Thank You !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was very good. I doubled the recipe, used 1lb bay shrimp and 1lb dungenous crab. I used half 1/2 & 1/2 and half lowfat milk and it was fantastic. Next time I will try it with just lowfat milk. I also forgot to put the wine in until the very end and it worked out perfectly. The broth didn't have a winey taste, but the fish had a hint of wine. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I love crab but I wasn't fussy on this at all. It's probably just me. I used sherry instead of wine and omitted the shrimp, just put in crab. I found the soup to be a little bitter. I wish I had enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peekie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Very tasty and so easy to make. My husband and I both liked it. I wasn't sure what type of wine to use, so I made it with chardonnay. May add a little more wine next time for some extra punch. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States