Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I just made this tonight and it was really good!! I followed a lot of suggestions from past reviews. I used a serving size of 12 for four people, I used only shrimp, and I used garlic instead of onion. I sauteed the butter, garlic, and shrimp shells together and strained the juices through a cheese cloth. After mixing the dry and wet ingredients together, the soup was lumpy so I used a blender. It came out so creamy! I also left out the wine and it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CABRUNKOW
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Just what I was looking for...I wanted a restaurant-style creamy crab soup (not a veggie chunky chowder or just a clam chowder made with crab). VERY nice, rich, and decadent. I used fresh cracked dungeness, no shrimp, no salt, dry sherry, organic half n' half (tends to be sweeter and is great with a sweet crab), white onion, and Old Bay on top to taste as suggested. Served with cheese biscuits. Doesn't make enough! As soon as my husband and I finished our coffee mugsful he asked for more. Good thing we had a great crabbing weekend on the Oregon coast! I made more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CABRUNKOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
We had a family get together on a cold Michigan day with several varieties of soups. This Bisque was the BOMB! It was the first to go and everybody was dissapointed that there were no seconds! I followed the recipe with one exception...I also added some lobster meat. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAGAGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I'm a Baltimorean and this recipe is pretty darn good. I agree with a recent review that something is missing, though. For me and my chef friend its the fish stock. We start with a couple leftover steamed blue crabs (if there is such a thing) and the shells from the shrimp. Boiled this down with the wine, water and seasonings, then add this to the rue. Reduce this to your liking, then dump the seafood in. Now THATs B'more style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Mc P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was delicious and quick and easy. I made it with shrimp, no crab. I will definitely make it again and plan on serving it for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I made this the night before, It was very easy and simple to warm up the next night. after siting over night it was fantastic. After melting the butter I cooked the shrimp shell down in it to give it more flavor after draining the butter from the shells. My girl frend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I thought this was a great recipe however I felt like it was missing some flavor. I tried many of the other reviewers suggestions, garlic instead of onion, half milk half 1/2 & 1/2, paprika, & I used only crab. Next time I am going to try to use sherry instead of wine. The serving size is also way off. My husband and I polished off the whole pot easily! Good recipe, and I will make again, however, it definitely needs some tweaking to be a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Probably should have left out the shrimp and used sherry instead of wine as others suggested...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Fantastic!! I used lobster instaed of crab (I had 2 leftover tails form a dinner party) and I used chicken broth instead of wine. It was great!! I tripled the recipe and it worked fine. I will DEF. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States