Shrimp and Cheesy Grits with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was a delicious and simple dish to make. I followed this recipe almost exactly. Only made a few minor changes. I only made enough for one to start. I cooked the white grits according to the package and when they were done I put in a pat of butter and a good sprinkle of Parmesan cheese. I also added minced garlic to the onion, green pepper mixture. When the shrimp where done, I added a 1/4 cup of chicken broth (to loosen the bits from the pan). At the very end I added a handful of grated cheddar and a sprinkle of Old Bay to the shrimp. I wish I could say that my whole family loved it but alas...they dont like seafood. I, however, thought it was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Thomas Hand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Yummy! Hit with the whole family. I used chicken bullion and water since I didn't have broth. Green peppers are not my friend, so they were omitted. I used chopped green onions to replace the chopped onion and it added a lovely color. Also added old bay to the shrimp and a bit of cayenne. Tasted like it was a lot harder work than it was. Love that it's good for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Boyd Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This recipe was a huge hit! My only change was born out of necessity. I didn't have any bell peppers on hand but did have some jalapeños. I substituted a finely minced jalapeño for the bells and it was terrific. Everyone in my family loved it and my husband and son said they thought I should always use jalapeños instead of bells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorri Annette Curto
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Fantastic! I loved this recipe. Cheese, shrimp and bacon what's not to love about that? I didn't have any evaporated milk so I just used extra chicken broth. I will make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
LOVED this recipe! Nice, creamy, and easy and no tomatoes :) As always, I made a few changes but they were simple. I cooked the bacon whole and saved to sprinkle on top; added minced garlic to the pepper and onion, cooked that down and added about 2 TBSP of flour before adding the shrimp (which I increased to 2 lbs, jumbo-precooked); lastly I used water instead of chicken broth for my grits (personal preference). This recipe is a keeper for sure-Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Lick the serving bowl clean! A delicious and flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was my first attempt at grits...and I loved it...of course, added a little Italian twist. The changes were actually from my son's girlfriend from down South.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
this was a great dish. used banana peppers instead of bell peppers and added some creole seasoning to the shrimp. Definitely will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Comfort food delux, bacon, shrimp, grits and cheese, what's not to like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Estes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Excellent! Try sprinkling your shrimp with some Tony Chachere's seasoned salt. Gives it a little zing & more flavor - kinda like Louisiana syle. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States