Shrimp and Cheesy Grits with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was a delicious and simple dish to make. I followed this recipe almost exactly. Only made a few minor changes. I only made enough for one to start. I cooked the white grits according to the package and when they were done I put in a pat of butter and a good sprinkle of Parmesan cheese. I also added minced garlic to the onion, green pepper mixture. When the shrimp where done, I added a 1/4 cup of chicken broth (to loosen the bits from the pan). At the very end I added a handful of grated cheddar and a sprinkle of Old Bay to the shrimp. I wish I could say that my whole family loved it but alas...they dont like seafood. I, however, thought it was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Thomas Hand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Yummy! Hit with the whole family. I used chicken bullion and water since I didn't have broth. Green peppers are not my friend, so they were omitted. I used chopped green onions to replace the chopped onion and it added a lovely color. Also added old bay to the shrimp and a bit of cayenne. Tasted like it was a lot harder work than it was. Love that it's good for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Boyd Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
LOVED this recipe! Nice, creamy, and easy and no tomatoes :) As always, I made a few changes but they were simple. I cooked the bacon whole and saved to sprinkle on top; added minced garlic to the pepper and onion, cooked that down and added about 2 TBSP of flour before adding the shrimp (which I increased to 2 lbs, jumbo-precooked); lastly I used water instead of chicken broth for my grits (personal preference). This recipe is a keeper for sure-Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This shrimp and grits was so delicious and very easy to make! I added cajun seasoning to the shrimp to give it more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Fantastic! I loved this recipe. Cheese, shrimp and bacon what's not to love about that? I didn't have any evaporated milk so I just used extra chicken broth. I will make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Added mushrooms to mine, was amazing very little that. I wanted to change about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This recipe was a huge hit! My only change was born out of necessity. I didn't have any bell peppers on hand but did have some jalapeños. I substituted a finely minced jalapeño for the bells and it was terrific. Everyone in my family loved it and my husband and son said they thought I should always use jalapeños instead of bells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was my first attempt at grits...and I loved it...of course, added a little Italian twist. The changes were actually from my son's girlfriend from down South.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Lick the serving bowl clean! A delicious and flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Good recipe - I didn't add any additional seasoning to the shrimp and for us it was a little bland. I couldn't bring myself to add a whole cup of cheese to the grits either - so overall, if you really want a flavor punch I think the other reviewers that ramped up the shrimp seasoning had it right. I'll do that next time, and will season the grits a little more to make up for the flavor lost by not adding a whole cup of cheese. Otherwise, it was pretty good. I am still trying to come close to the flavor of the shrimp and grits and I had at Pisces Rising in Mt Dora Florida. This doesn't quite capture the lushness of that dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States