Shrimp and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2000
I prepared this salad for a Mother's Day lunch. My brother, who is an outstanding cook and a real critic, replied to my question: "What do you think this recipe needs?". . ."Just make more of it," he replied. It's a snap to prepare and was enjoyed by everyone from ages three through 79.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Everyone loved the salad and thought the presentation was beautiful. I halved the Worcestershir sauce and doubled the amount of shrimp, and was very pleased with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I was looking for a shrimp and avocado salad reminiscent of a salad i had in France, but this was the closest recipe to it, so i needed to get sold on something a little spicy. I looked at another recipe (Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans) for the sauce on this site as well, and used this recipe + 1 Tbsp. Creole mustard and 1 Tbsp. lemon juice in in the sauce as the other recipe called for. The mustard and lemon juice added flavor and it was delicious, but possibly not thick enough. Try adding all the called for ingred. and then testing it with mustard and lemon juice. I also just sliced the avocados and placed the shrimp mixture on top of them for ease. Also, make sure you dry your shrimp very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Neither hubs nor I enjoyed this. Unlike the description of the salad, there IS no "combination" of flavors. The ingredients in the dressing never blended together to create a cohesive whole. The recipe calls for far too much Worcestershire and even after cutting it by more than half it was still way too much. The dressing itself tasted of basically nothing more than mayonnaise and chili sauce. In addition, there was so MUCH of the sauce that it was just a bunch of goosh that all but obliterated the taste of the shrimp, even after more than doubling the shrimp to compensate. While this was a pretty salad, it unfortunately wasn't to our liking. There is just too much wrong with this recipe, other than using a different dressing entirely, to offer any helpful suggestions to improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This was wonderfully easy and so tasty too! I did add a little horseradish to spice it up even more. And I happened to have some awesome garlic chives in my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAXIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I made this recipe for a salad entree at a dinner party last weekend. It was excellent. I used the suggestion from another review and doubled the shrimp while cutting back on the worcestershire. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Very nice recipe, similar to a shrimp/avocado salad I had in New Orleans with a few changes. Tossed the chopped lettuce leaves with a bit of lemon juice/spritz of oil and S&P. I halved the avocados and placed the lettuce inside. I squeezed some lemon on the shrimp and mixed with the dressing....but I cut the worcestershire sauce down to 3/4 tsp and added 3/4 tsp. of crystal hotsauce.(my favorite) but Franks or any other would work great and amount added could be to taste. Placed the shrimp mixture on top of the lettuce. Little spice/heat in each bite with the cool lettuce and avocado. It was delicious and thanks Inga for a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
WOW...I can't say enough about this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except I cut up the avocados into the salad and just piled the shrimp on the lettuce. The dressing was tasted delicious (we loved how spicy it was), but next time I will try half mayo/half sour cream. This is a good recipe if you want to impress people!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I love spicy stuff, but found this a little too spicy. Next time Ill stick to 1T chili sauce (I used the oriental chili sauce for the garlic and touch of heat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
not bad, but was expecting something a bit more exciting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States