Shrimp and Avocado Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I used sweet chili heat sauce instead of cocktail sauce. This was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisasamm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is wonderful, very light and refreshing salad, served in martini glasses, easy to do and even avacado haters(my husband) really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Delicious. Made this for our New Year's Eve gathering with family. Everyone loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah's Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I made a slight change to the sauce. I used 1/4 cup of mayo, 1/4 cup of cocktail sauce, 1/4 cup of chili sauce, and the hot sauce listed in the recipe. I coated the shrimp and avacado with the mix (I did not use all of it - add according to your tastes), and then piled the "salad" onto toasted rolls for a sandwich. It was fantastic! Some of us added a thin slice of cheese. This was quick and easy and light for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I loved the idea of this recipe, but wanted it to come out a bit chunkier and not so much like a dip, so I added another extra avocado, chunked largely and only about 1/4 cup of the cocktail sauce. Also, a little fresh ground pepper. I served in martini glasses with extra shrimp garnishing the side of the glass. It turned out beautifully and tasted incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was really yummy! The bottle of cocktail sauce at the store was only 8.5 oz and that was plenty. I chopped the shrimp into small pieces (about the same size as the avocado) and served with "scoops" chips. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
try adding 1/4 c. orange soda and chopped onions and dicing the shrimp. real mexican flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is a family favorite but I don't use the cocktail sauce. I use tomato juice with chopped tomatoes, minced jalapeno peppers, and diced red onion, celery, and bell pepper. Sort of like a cocktail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willowbas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Needed to double the cilantro. Very tasty and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I loved this! I made it the first time right by the recipe and it was perfect! The second time I "tweaked" it a little just for fun. It is so versatile. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States