Shrimp and Avocado Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Great base but a little bland as is. Add lime juice, salt and pepper and you'll get a terrific appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I substituted salad shrimp for large shrimp, which made it easier to scoop up. Also with fresh lime juice, and salt and white pepper as suggested. I took it to a party, and it was the first thing gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
thought this was good start however I added chopped roma tomato and not as much bottled coctail sauce. Really liked the touch of hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Delicious. Made this for our New Year's Eve gathering with family. Everyone loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah's Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Very tasty a little rich next time I well use a little less cockail sauce. Yes I well make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I made a slight change to the sauce. I used 1/4 cup of mayo, 1/4 cup of cocktail sauce, 1/4 cup of chili sauce, and the hot sauce listed in the recipe. I coated the shrimp and avacado with the mix (I did not use all of it - add according to your tastes), and then piled the "salad" onto toasted rolls for a sandwich. It was fantastic! Some of us added a thin slice of cheese. This was quick and easy and light for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I loved the idea of this recipe, but wanted it to come out a bit chunkier and not so much like a dip, so I added another extra avocado, chunked largely and only about 1/4 cup of the cocktail sauce. Also, a little fresh ground pepper. I served in martini glasses with extra shrimp garnishing the side of the glass. It turned out beautifully and tasted incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I made this for a Cinco de Mayo party & as a side for a light summer meal. I've shared the recipe with some friends & our advice is to add a little more hot sauce, lime juice, and some celery for some crunch. I used 2 avocados & twice the shrimp; otherwise the cocktail sauce is a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
was good, but too sweet with the bottled seafood sauce.Instead, next time I will use low-sodium/low sugar ketchup and a Tbsp. of prepared horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Likly-Welch

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is a family favorite but I don't use the cocktail sauce. I use tomato juice with chopped tomatoes, minced jalapeno peppers, and diced red onion, celery, and bell pepper. Sort of like a cocktail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willowbas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States