Shrimp and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars because I did tweak it and will tweak further - but loved it overall. Halved the recipe for just my husband and myself and still have a lot left over. Used Angel Hair pasta instead of egg noodles. I sauted garlic (will use more next time) in olive oil (WAY TO MUCH called for in recipe (1/8 cup all that's needed for serving of 4 if that) and then added butter (again, to much - will use 1/4 cup for serving 4 instead of 1/2), lemon juice, asparagus (raw) and some white wine. Skipped mushrooms cause neither my husband or I like them. After the asparagus was almost fully cooked, I added 1 lb of lg shrimp and 1 tbsp of Salt Free Poultry seasoning and pepper to taste. Did not add any salt at all. When shrimp was fully cooked, I removed shrimp/asparagus from sauce, added 1 tbsp of cornstarch diluted in a splash of white wine to avoid clumping, to thicken the sauce - then tossed pasta, sauce and shrimp/asparagus together. Served w/ fresh out of the oven pillsbury simply rustic french bread. Forgot to top w/ Parmesan, but didn't need it - was still good. So much oil left on the plate after we ate we used it for dipping w/ the bread. Could use more vegetables - maybe some zucchini and carrots - overall, taste is awesome - just trying to cut back on fats, cholesterol and salt, so reducing amt of oil and butter is good - use white wine and cornstarch to increase amt of sauce if you want more. Loved the simplicity of it. Looking forward to making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
We made this with penne pasta, but it was delicious and my kids loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
You can't go wrong with anything that calls for a sauce made of olive oil, butter and garlic. Altogether it probably took me about 20 minutes to make everything, if you do the steps simaltaneously, so it is a very quick and easy dinner. I skipped the mushrooms because I didn't have any, but added onions and some diced tomatoes at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Followed others advice with less butter and oil. Skipped the mushrooms because of preference. Also added scallions for an additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent dish! Simple to make and tastes great! Doubled the garlic and the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Quick and easy recipe, a little bland before adding extra seasoning but I forgot the lemon juice so that probably didn't help. I added Lawry's to the mix, more black pepper and only used 2 tbs butter together with a little olive oil. 1 cup butter was just too much for me to handle! As I didn't have much shrimp, I used fake crab too, which added nicely to the meal. I would've used some white wine if I had some open but unfortunately I didn't. Will make again (with the white wine!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Good, easy. But nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was delicious. Took others advise and amended the amounts of the butter & olive oil . Next time I'm going to use a variety of mushrooms. Served over fluffy noodles. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
great tasting meal .... doesn't need as much butter as the recipe calls for and I added Lawrys season salt too for more flavor ... overall we will make it again for SURE!! (oh I halved the noodle amount and doubled the shrimp ... we like more protein and less carbs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
My husband an I both LOVED this recipe. We were amazed that all of the ingredients played such a large role. It's like you could taste each individual ingredient an it all came together so nicely. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States