Shrimp and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Made some changes to this recipe to make it easier and healthier--chopped asparagus into bite-size pieces and sauteed in about 2T olive oil with garlic about 5 min. Add 1 stick low fat marg., lemon juice and frozen shrimp. Served over mini ziti and sprinkled with parmesan. Left out mushrooms as my husband doesn't like them. Using my version the meal is considerably lower in fat and you eliminate a step by not steaming asparagus. Taste was very fresh, light and healthy. Will definitely make this again next spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I was quite impressed with this recipe! So easy and SO good!! I cooked the mushrooms, asparagus, butter and minced garlic in a separate pan. Then, at the same time I had the egg noodles cooking and also cooked the shrimp, butter, a pinch of minced garlic, the lemon juice and added a few dashes of Creole Seasoning. This reduced the cooking time and then I was able to just throw it all together and serve it warm. By adding the Creole seasoning, it gave it more flavor, and I will continue to do that each time I make this recipe. I have already shared this recipe with a couple friends who have all made it and thought it was wonderful! Thanks again for a quick, easy and very tasty meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I used angel hair pasta instead of egg noodles and only 1/2 cup of butter. I did what one reviewer suggested and sauted the asparagus in olive oil then set aside until I had sauted the shrimp a few minutes. I used the juice of one lemon. To spice up the flavor a bit, I added red pepper flakes and a bunch of Old Bay seasoning. It would have been a bit bland without the red pepper/Old Bay. My husband and I both enjoyed it with these changes. It was very good reheated the next day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Okay, so my husband and I might not live as long as the rest of you who halved the butter, but we sure loved this recipe in all its buttery glory! The dish is very pretty and served with a salad and some crusty bread was a delicious dinner. Go wild; don't cut the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Everyone I make this for loves it! Even the picky eaters asked for seconds. I have made this with egg noodles, angel hair and my personal favorite; linguine. I steam the asparagus while I cook my pasta. Once the asparagus is cooked I add it to a saucepan with my butter, olive oil, s&p, mushrooms and garlic. I saute them until my pasta is ready and then I add my shrimp in the veggie mixture. Cook for 3 minutes and add my pasta. Always is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Belgium
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Really good and easy. Did not use olive oil. Sauteed mushroom, garlic and asparagus in butter for 5 minutes. Mixed all that with cooked pasta. Sauteed shrimp and garlic in butter, then added lemon juice and red pepper flakes. Mixed everything with pasta and veggies, then added parmesan. Really good with garlic bread. Thanks for sharing your recipe =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Wonderful meal in one. Only thing I did different from the ingredients was only 8oz. of sliced mushrooms and 1/2 cup butter, and that was plenty. I didn't follow the cooking directions, the shrimp needs to be the last ingredient or it would be too tough by the time the mushrooms cook. I just sauteed the garlic in the oil and then added the butter, asparagus and mushrooms, once they were just about tender, I tossed in the shrimp for about three minutes until tender and pink. Then poured that mix into the already waiting egg noodles. I'm sure if you wanted to use a whole cup of butter it would be even better...but I didn't want the extra calories and no one here noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This was not only easy to make but very good. I used whole wheat noodles, frozen shrimp (thawed and tails removed), cut the oil and butter in half and added some garlic pepper and a some red pepper flakes, but did use fresh juice from a lemon. The lemon seems to be the important ingredient. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars because I did tweak it and will tweak further - but loved it overall. Halved the recipe for just my husband and myself and still have a lot left over. Used Angel Hair pasta instead of egg noodles. I sauted garlic (will use more next time) in olive oil (WAY TO MUCH called for in recipe (1/8 cup all that's needed for serving of 4 if that) and then added butter (again, to much - will use 1/4 cup for serving 4 instead of 1/2), lemon juice, asparagus (raw) and some white wine. Skipped mushrooms cause neither my husband or I like them. After the asparagus was almost fully cooked, I added 1 lb of lg shrimp and 1 tbsp of Salt Free Poultry seasoning and pepper to taste. Did not add any salt at all. When shrimp was fully cooked, I removed shrimp/asparagus from sauce, added 1 tbsp of cornstarch diluted in a splash of white wine to avoid clumping, to thicken the sauce - then tossed pasta, sauce and shrimp/asparagus together. Served w/ fresh out of the oven pillsbury simply rustic french bread. Forgot to top w/ Parmesan, but didn't need it - was still good. So much oil left on the plate after we ate we used it for dipping w/ the bread. Could use more vegetables - maybe some zucchini and carrots - overall, taste is awesome - just trying to cut back on fats, cholesterol and salt, so reducing amt of oil and butter is good - use white wine and cornstarch to increase amt of sauce if you want more. Loved the simplicity of it. Looking forward to making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Excellant............I used 1/2 the butter and oil as well as half the egg noodles. I doubled the lemon juice and added a sprinkle of crushed red pepper.....all suggestions from previous reviewers. It's as pretty as it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States