Shrimp and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I used another reviewers idea and used wine and starch to thicken the sauce, cut both the oil and butter in half and it was fabulous. I loved it, the boyfriend thought it was just ok. He puts hot sauce and salt and pepper on everything though. If you enjoy light, flavorful sauces, you will love this. If you love hot sauce and salt and pepper on ALL things food related, you might need something with more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I thought an entire lb of butter was a bit much, so I used 3 instead of 4 sticks. Love garlic and lemon so I put a lot more in, I just eye it. Everything else I did as it says and it came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I really liked the taste, but I think I failed to use enough shrimp and asparagus because it felt more like a side than a main dish. I will definitely make again, but adjust a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aabergren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Loved how versatile this recipe is. Everyone has their own ideas; I used what else I had on hand. I used 1/4 c. butter, 1/4 c. olive oil; sauteed 3/4 c. green onions, 3 T. minced garlic, a red bell pepper sliced thinly, 1 T. finely minced basil, 1/8 tsp. oregano, 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper til tender, added the shrimp. Tossed around a very few minutes then added 1/2 dry sherry w/1T.cornstarch. I added the salt, black pepper and tossed the spaghetti in with the Parmesan cheese. This was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHITIMACHA54
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I did as many did and tweaked this menu to make it more healthy. I sauted the mushrooms, asparagus, and also some fresh peppers and onions from the garden in a separate pan. I sauted them in olive oil, garlic, and some cayenne and paprika. I then removed the above mixture and sauted the shrimp using only 1/3 cup butter and lemon juice. I added Italian seasonings also. Served as many did on angel hair pasta. Perfect summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I made this last night - didn't change a thing. It was delicious and we had the leftovers for lunch. It is definitely a keeper and will be making it often. Thank you for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Awesome recipe. I added some Greek Seasoning to add a little more flavor and sauteed the asparagus rather than steaming to give it some crispness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
So good and easy! But couldn't in good conscience use that much oil or butter as other reviewers said. Used 1/4 c olive oil (will use less next time) and used 1/4 c butter for the dish (8 servings). I also used another reviewers suggestion - sauteed garlic, then mushrooms. Added 1/2 cup white wine with lemon juice and steamed asparagus for awhile then added butter and shrimp for the last few minutes. I typically overcook shrimp but didn't this time! I did added red pepper flakes, salt and pepper. Will use more lemon juice next time. I'm gluten free so used jasmine rice instead of pasta - was fabulous! My BF and I were the only ones eating and there were not 6 servings left for sure! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Definitely a crowd pleaser at our house! I added a little more Parm and asparagus. This was a crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Wow made this yesterday and it was heavenly :). I twiked it a bit adding less butter and using butter with flax seed in it, gave it a little spice throwing in a bit of red pepper flakes and sundried tomatoes. Oh also added much more garlic like a whole bulb soo YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States