Shrimp and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was good but too bland. My family was asking what the "sauce" was since it's just oil and butter? I did cut the fat by half and added onions. Next time I'm going to add 1 cup of parm. cheese to the oil/butter and add some cajun seasoning as someone else recommended. I would do this again with these changes. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Nice! My husband and I both really enjoyed this dish. Used regular noodles instead of egg because I didn't have egg noodles on hand. Also used a combination of approximately 2 tsp of Brumbling Brown and a bit of olive oil instead of butter to cut the fat. Turned out fab and I will definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
didn't have mushrooms..still very, very good. One of my favorites. Make it EASIER: Just throw the shrimp in with the noodles during the last minute of cooking (and I use whole grain linguine). Use the bottled minced garlic if you aren't using mushrooms and then you avoid the saute step. This recipe only takes me about 10 minutes to throw together if my asparagus is washed and cut. I also like to just toss the asparagus w/olive oil and garlic salt and bake at 400 degrees till done. (Do this while the noodles cook) LOVE THIS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Really yummy, quick, light (I used a LOT less of both oil and butter) dinner. I forgot the parm but we all still loved it! Would be great with crusty bread to sop up the juices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I have to say that this recipe was delicious!! I didn't skimp on the butter but made a few additions. I added chopped onion to the garlic as well as some Cajun seasoning and cayenne pepper, also doubled the asparagus. I had made it previously without those changes and I felt it was lacking flavor, made with those simple changes it was such a nice meal, easy to make and full of flavor. Served it with a salad and crusty bread. Had it for a dinner party, everyone raved about how amazing it was! Big thank you to Cathy for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra
Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars because I did tweak it and will tweak further - but loved it overall. Halved the recipe for just my husband and myself and still have a lot left over. Used Angel Hair pasta instead of egg noodles. I sauted garlic (will use more next time) in olive oil (WAY TO MUCH called for in recipe (1/8 cup all that's needed for serving of 4 if that) and then added butter (again, to much - will use 1/4 cup for serving 4 instead of 1/2), lemon juice, asparagus (raw) and some white wine. Skipped mushrooms cause neither my husband or I like them. After the asparagus was almost fully cooked, I added 1 lb of lg shrimp and 1 tbsp of Salt Free Poultry seasoning and pepper to taste. Did not add any salt at all. When shrimp was fully cooked, I removed shrimp/asparagus from sauce, added 1 tbsp of cornstarch diluted in a splash of white wine to avoid clumping, to thicken the sauce - then tossed pasta, sauce and shrimp/asparagus together. Served w/ fresh out of the oven pillsbury simply rustic french bread. Forgot to top w/ Parmesan, but didn't need it - was still good. So much oil left on the plate after we ate we used it for dipping w/ the bread. Could use more vegetables - maybe some zucchini and carrots - overall, taste is awesome - just trying to cut back on fats, cholesterol and salt, so reducing amt of oil and butter is good - use white wine and cornstarch to increase amt of sauce if you want more. Loved the simplicity of it. Looking forward to making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
We made this with penne pasta, but it was delicious and my kids loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
You can't go wrong with anything that calls for a sauce made of olive oil, butter and garlic. Altogether it probably took me about 20 minutes to make everything, if you do the steps simaltaneously, so it is a very quick and easy dinner. I skipped the mushrooms because I didn't have any, but added onions and some diced tomatoes at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Followed others advice with less butter and oil. Skipped the mushrooms because of preference. Also added scallions for an additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States