Shrimp and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
AH-mazing!!!! I followed others advice and used half the butter which was enough, and a dash of old bay. For my own tweaks I used a combo of white, baby Bella and shiitake mushrooms, and used 1 shallot to replace 2 of the garlic cloves. this is a keeper. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I was trying to find a way to make my kids eat asparagus without traumatizing them as I was. I have never made asparagus for myself as I have never liked them. This dish changed my mind and my kids ate it up as did my mom who loves asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Wonderful meal in one. Only thing I did different from the ingredients was only 8oz. of sliced mushrooms and 1/2 cup butter, and that was plenty. I didn't follow the cooking directions, the shrimp needs to be the last ingredient or it would be too tough by the time the mushrooms cook. I just sauteed the garlic in the oil and then added the butter, asparagus and mushrooms, once they were just about tender, I tossed in the shrimp for about three minutes until tender and pink. Then poured that mix into the already waiting egg noodles. I'm sure if you wanted to use a whole cup of butter it would be even better...but I didn't want the extra calories and no one here noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
4.5 Less oil, less butter, more garlic. Microwaved the aspargus and fresh mushrooms first until almost done and poured off the water. used frozen shrimp, thawed by running under the tap in a sieve with cold water running. Nice and quick to make!!! Also used fresh angel hair pasta. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made the recipe as described and there was way too much butter. Also, I found it a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is a great meal! It has become a staple in our house. We use fresh green beans or sweet pea pods instead of asparagus. We cut the butter in half because it can get pretty greasy if you don't. And to make it easier on myself, I buy the shimp that are already peeled and deveined. I think you are a crazy person to do otherwise! But I am a mother of 4 and don't have the time or patience or stomach to do it myself. This dish is def. reccomended. It is also a great dish to serve when entertaining guests because it makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Very simple and comes together VERY quickly. I'd suggest having all the prep work done before starting to actually cook, or you may end up with overcooked shrimp. To use fewer pots/pans, I boiled the asparagus in the pasta water, before cooking the pasta. I also tossed it with orzo instead of the egg noodles. Excellent recipe! Thanks, Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I added julienne carrots and thinly sliced celery and pea pods with the mushrooms and used non hydrogenated margerine instead of butter and whole wheat egg noodles...absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is the only way I've gotten my 5 year old to willingly eat asparagus! This is best described as shrimp scampi plus pasta and veggies. DELICIOUS! I tried to cut back on the butter and oil, but I ended up having to add it back because it's the basis for the sauce. Definitely not a "light" recipe, but a wonderful treat every now and then. Will definitely mark this a "keeper" per my 5 year old's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I was leery of trying this...While I LOVE all the ingrediants, my husband is not an asparagus fan. However, we both really enjoyed this dish! It's light and fresh and even tastes good cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States