Shrimp Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Excellent recipe! To save a bit of time, I used 1/2 of a 10 ounce package of frozen spinach, thawed and wrung out dry using a dish towelinstead of sauteeing in the oil. I also prepared the Knorr's Bernaise sauce, using one third cup in the crab/spinach mixture and saving the rest to pour on the finished product. Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This made a stunning appetizer for my dinner party. I did take the suggestion of using frozen spinach instead. (thank you, no cleaning spinch before using!)I sauted the shallots to bring out their flavor. Instead of serving them with more bechamel sauce, I used the Wine Sauce found on this website. I served one shrimp on each plate drizzled with the wine sauce and garnished with fresh parsley. My guest were very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made it as per recipe and it was great. Next time I'll add more nutmeg to the bechamel sauce. And you really do have to make sure the spinach and crab meat are squeezed as dry as possible. The left over bechemel sauce goes really good with biscuits or chicken fried steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
We all really liked this for a special meal. I subbed several shakes of Old Bay seasoning instead of the fresh tarragon (personal preference). Used 1-1/2 super colossal shrimp per lg puff pastry triangle (main dish). Would've liked at least 50%-100% more crab in the filling. Squeeze-dry the lightly steamed spinach before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
So yummy wanted to eat them all by myself!! Great hit for all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I was able to get jumbo shrimp or bechamel sauce (small town) so I substituted Alfredo sauce and regular shrimp and they still turned out great. Had a hard time with the pastry due to the warm weather here though so I may not thaw all the way next time. But overall a redo for sure =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Made these tonight and they were very good! Also used frozen spinach and bearnaise sauce but wished I had used fresh spinach (I think they would have tasted even better). I cut down the fresh tarragon in half and it was not too strong. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Useing bechamel sauce is simmilar to well like a "chicken pot pie" I like the idea of the sauce outside of the dish. I didnt use the tarragon because I thought it took away the delicate flavor of the shrimp, what I did do was I made a Roasted Garlic Supreme Sauce to serve with the shrimp...just a little pool of sauce and sat the shrimp in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These were delicious. Made for some friends that were visiting and they really enjoyed these. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States