Shrimp Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
So yummy wanted to eat them all by myself!! Great hit for all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
We all really liked this for a special meal. I subbed several shakes of Old Bay seasoning instead of the fresh tarragon (personal preference). Used 1-1/2 super colossal shrimp per lg puff pastry triangle (main dish). Would've liked at least 50%-100% more crab in the filling. Squeeze-dry the lightly steamed spinach before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Excellent recipe! To save a bit of time, I used 1/2 of a 10 ounce package of frozen spinach, thawed and wrung out dry using a dish towelinstead of sauteeing in the oil. I also prepared the Knorr's Bernaise sauce, using one third cup in the crab/spinach mixture and saving the rest to pour on the finished product. Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This made a stunning appetizer for my dinner party. I did take the suggestion of using frozen spinach instead. (thank you, no cleaning spinch before using!)I sauted the shallots to bring out their flavor. Instead of serving them with more bechamel sauce, I used the Wine Sauce found on this website. I served one shrimp on each plate drizzled with the wine sauce and garnished with fresh parsley. My guest were very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made it as per recipe and it was great. Next time I'll add more nutmeg to the bechamel sauce. And you really do have to make sure the spinach and crab meat are squeezed as dry as possible. The left over bechemel sauce goes really good with biscuits or chicken fried steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Mmmmvery tasty. Had to use flakey biscuit dough since couldn't find pastry dough. Recipe should include the bechamel sauce. I found a recipe with thyme, onion, salt, pepper, chicken broth that was good with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These were delicious. Made for some friends that were visiting and they really enjoyed these. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Made these tonight and they were very good! Also used frozen spinach and bearnaise sauce but wished I had used fresh spinach (I think they would have tasted even better). I cut down the fresh tarragon in half and it was not too strong. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I was able to get jumbo shrimp or bechamel sauce (small town) so I substituted Alfredo sauce and regular shrimp and they still turned out great. Had a hard time with the pastry due to the warm weather here though so I may not thaw all the way next time. But overall a redo for sure =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Pretty good appetizer dish for the family get together we had last night. I did fresh spinach instead of frozen like someone else did below and I do believe it made all the difference. Word of advice tho, make sure spinach and crab meat are squeezed as dry as you can get them. Other than that, this was a very good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States