Shrimp Vermicelli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
Quick, easy and very popular. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This is yummalicious! So simple yet so good. I took this to a potluck at work and they all wanted the recipe. I can't wait to make it again, my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Wow! I can't believe how easy and good this salad is. It is very good as listed, but I substituted dill for the thyme and left out the garlic all together. Can't go wrong either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
this pasta salad was super tasty and really quite easy to make. i made it using dill instead of thyme and less pasta like other reviewers suggested. the only thing i would do differently next time is i will break the pasta in half before cooking - it was really hard to get everything to combine with super long strands. still, i will defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was really yummy! I too thought a full pound was too much pasta, so I cut it back, but I liked the idea of using a vermicelli or spaghettini instead of the usual smaller bite-size pastas. I, too, instinctively went with the dill weed instead of the thyme (hey, it's SHRIMP!) and also I added extra parmesan cheese to give it a bit more of a saltiness. Great dish for a buffet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I had everything ready and then realized my shrimp was bad :( and it was still good without it so definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was really good & great for a big group. There did not seem to be enough mayo & spices so I increased the mayo by 1/2 cup & threw in some more spices & it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
This salad is SO easy and very tasty. I will make this one over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Used about a pound and a half of medium (31/40) shrimp ... and did not adjust other ingredients. Seemed the right amount of "goop." Added three or four sliced scallions and about a cup of frozen peas. Will serve at a potluck tomorrow, but it did seem a bit under-flavored tonight, so I sprinkled on some Old Bay (hey ... I'm in Baltimore, hon -- Old Bay is culinary duct tape in these parts). I trust that the OB ... and a night to mature in the fridge ... will do the trick. Oh ... and I should have paid attention to those reviewers who suggested a different pasta (bow ties or shells, perhaps). The "spaghetti" aspect (even though I broke the vermicelli into thirds before boiling it) may make this a bit of a hard sell as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I make this same salad but I add 5 finely chopped hard boiled eggs, green onions instead of celery a little half and half, a tbls lemon juice, no cheese thyme or garlic. 1/1/2 cups mayo and 2 pounds of shrimp and the salt and pepper to taste is important, it is delicious and always people want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States