Shrimp Vermicelli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I made this for a party and it tasted great and I would definitely make it again but with changes. I didn't give this 5 stars because there was way too much pasta called for in this recipe so next time I will probably cut the amount of pasta in half. Also, I would use a different pasta shape, like bowties or small shells. People kept asking if I was supposed to heat it up, they didn't realize it was a cold spaghetti salad. But everyone who ate it thought it tasted great - in fact, my grandmother, who is a harsh critic of how people cook, even asked me for the recipe, but she also said "too much pasta" and "use bowties next time."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
I wasn't sure about the thyme so I left it out. Before eating the dish, I did a taste test and put some on my plate in 3 separate sections. I put a dash of thyme on one, some dill on the 2nd, and some Old Bay Seasoning on the 3rd & mixed each one a little bit. My preference was for the dill. It tasted OK without the dill too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
this pasta salad was super tasty and really quite easy to make. i made it using dill instead of thyme and less pasta like other reviewers suggested. the only thing i would do differently next time is i will break the pasta in half before cooking - it was really hard to get everything to combine with super long strands. still, i will defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was really yummy! I too thought a full pound was too much pasta, so I cut it back, but I liked the idea of using a vermicelli or spaghettini instead of the usual smaller bite-size pastas. I, too, instinctively went with the dill weed instead of the thyme (hey, it's SHRIMP!) and also I added extra parmesan cheese to give it a bit more of a saltiness. Great dish for a buffet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Wow! I can't believe how easy and good this salad is. It is very good as listed, but I substituted dill for the thyme and left out the garlic all together. Can't go wrong either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This is yummalicious! So simple yet so good. I took this to a potluck at work and they all wanted the recipe. I can't wait to make it again, my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was really good & great for a big group. There did not seem to be enough mayo & spices so I increased the mayo by 1/2 cup & threw in some more spices & it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I used bowtie pasta instead of vermicelli, and garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. I like dill better than thyme, so used dill. I will make this again for a cool summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
This salad is SO easy and very tasty. I will make this one over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Used about a pound and a half of medium (31/40) shrimp ... and did not adjust other ingredients. Seemed the right amount of "goop." Added three or four sliced scallions and about a cup of frozen peas. Will serve at a potluck tomorrow, but it did seem a bit under-flavored tonight, so I sprinkled on some Old Bay (hey ... I'm in Baltimore, hon -- Old Bay is culinary duct tape in these parts). I trust that the OB ... and a night to mature in the fridge ... will do the trick. Oh ... and I should have paid attention to those reviewers who suggested a different pasta (bow ties or shells, perhaps). The "spaghetti" aspect (even though I broke the vermicelli into thirds before boiling it) may make this a bit of a hard sell as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States