Shrimp Vermicelli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was a hit! I only used 1/2 the pasta as other reviews suggested, and I also added scallions. Other than that I followed the recipe. This was very tasty!!!! I highly recommend to cut back on the pasta... (Also, I used bow-tie pasta) Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
this pasta salad was super tasty and really quite easy to make. i made it using dill instead of thyme and less pasta like other reviewers suggested. the only thing i would do differently next time is i will break the pasta in half before cooking - it was really hard to get everything to combine with super long strands. still, i will defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was really yummy! I too thought a full pound was too much pasta, so I cut it back, but I liked the idea of using a vermicelli or spaghettini instead of the usual smaller bite-size pastas. I, too, instinctively went with the dill weed instead of the thyme (hey, it's SHRIMP!) and also I added extra parmesan cheese to give it a bit more of a saltiness. Great dish for a buffet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I loved this shrimp pasta salad. Many others suggested substituting bow tie pasta or dill. I thought it was great, but my husband & I thought it was missing something. My husband tends to like things a bit saltier than I do, so I might try to add a bit of garlic salt or garlic powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDP4445

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I was surprised how good this simple saled was.I used spaghetti noodles because I had a lot on hand.I used more fresh parsley,dried dill instead of thyme and also some dried coriander seed,ground and a teaspoon of red wine vinegar..It was very tasty indeed.I think small shell pasta would work well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I made this for a party and it tasted great and I would definitely make it again but with changes. I didn't give this 5 stars because there was way too much pasta called for in this recipe so next time I will probably cut the amount of pasta in half. Also, I would use a different pasta shape, like bowties or small shells. People kept asking if I was supposed to heat it up, they didn't realize it was a cold spaghetti salad. But everyone who ate it thought it tasted great - in fact, my grandmother, who is a harsh critic of how people cook, even asked me for the recipe, but she also said "too much pasta" and "use bowties next time."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This has a good flavor using the spices in the recipe, and even with a little Old Bay as mentioned by reviewers. I have a tendency to get heavy-handed with garlic, but I preferred it better with less, and I also added some hot sauce (Texas Pete!). A few drops of worcestershire at the end really added a wonderful zing! Thanks. 4* for taste, but 5* for ease!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Wow! I can't believe how easy and good this salad is. It is very good as listed, but I substituted dill for the thyme and left out the garlic all together. Can't go wrong either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
Quick, easy and very popular. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
I wasn't sure about the thyme so I left it out. Before eating the dish, I did a taste test and put some on my plate in 3 separate sections. I put a dash of thyme on one, some dill on the 2nd, and some Old Bay Seasoning on the 3rd & mixed each one a little bit. My preference was for the dill. It tasted OK without the dill too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States