Shrimp Vermicelli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I gave this recipe 4 stars because my husband loves it while I think it's ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was a hit! I only used 1/2 the pasta as other reviews suggested, and I also added scallions. Other than that I followed the recipe. This was very tasty!!!! I highly recommend to cut back on the pasta... (Also, I used bow-tie pasta) Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
this pasta salad was super tasty and really quite easy to make. i made it using dill instead of thyme and less pasta like other reviewers suggested. the only thing i would do differently next time is i will break the pasta in half before cooking - it was really hard to get everything to combine with super long strands. still, i will defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was really yummy! I too thought a full pound was too much pasta, so I cut it back, but I liked the idea of using a vermicelli or spaghettini instead of the usual smaller bite-size pastas. I, too, instinctively went with the dill weed instead of the thyme (hey, it's SHRIMP!) and also I added extra parmesan cheese to give it a bit more of a saltiness. Great dish for a buffet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I loved this shrimp pasta salad. Many others suggested substituting bow tie pasta or dill. I thought it was great, but my husband & I thought it was missing something. My husband tends to like things a bit saltier than I do, so I might try to add a bit of garlic salt or garlic powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDP4445

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I was surprised how good this simple saled was.I used spaghetti noodles because I had a lot on hand.I used more fresh parsley,dried dill instead of thyme and also some dried coriander seed,ground and a teaspoon of red wine vinegar..It was very tasty indeed.I think small shell pasta would work well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I made this for a party and it tasted great and I would definitely make it again but with changes. I didn't give this 5 stars because there was way too much pasta called for in this recipe so next time I will probably cut the amount of pasta in half. Also, I would use a different pasta shape, like bowties or small shells. People kept asking if I was supposed to heat it up, they didn't realize it was a cold spaghetti salad. But everyone who ate it thought it tasted great - in fact, my grandmother, who is a harsh critic of how people cook, even asked me for the recipe, but she also said "too much pasta" and "use bowties next time."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This has a good flavor using the spices in the recipe, and even with a little Old Bay as mentioned by reviewers. I have a tendency to get heavy-handed with garlic, but I preferred it better with less, and I also added some hot sauce (Texas Pete!). A few drops of worcestershire at the end really added a wonderful zing! Thanks. 4* for taste, but 5* for ease!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Wow! I can't believe how easy and good this salad is. It is very good as listed, but I substituted dill for the thyme and left out the garlic all together. Can't go wrong either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
Quick, easy and very popular. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States