Shrimp Vermicelli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is a very comforting Summer salad, the cool tender pasta and the shrimp salad go well together on a hot day. Instead of Parmesan, I used Asiago Cheese. It sure did give the whole salad a good zing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Talamantez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I used the broken Vermicelli (8 ounce package) instead of the long strands, thinking it would easier to eat. This is a fine base but I think it needs more celery, possibly some fine diced onion. Dill is a better choice to go with shrimp I think. There wouldn't be enough dressing for a whole pound of vermicelli. Visually, it needs a little color. Red and orange peppers, maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I make this same salad but I add 5 finely chopped hard boiled eggs, green onions instead of celery a little half and half, a tbls lemon juice, no cheese thyme or garlic. 1/1/2 cups mayo and 2 pounds of shrimp and the salt and pepper to taste is important, it is delicious and always people want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Used about a pound and a half of medium (31/40) shrimp ... and did not adjust other ingredients. Seemed the right amount of "goop." Added three or four sliced scallions and about a cup of frozen peas. Will serve at a potluck tomorrow, but it did seem a bit under-flavored tonight, so I sprinkled on some Old Bay (hey ... I'm in Baltimore, hon -- Old Bay is culinary duct tape in these parts). I trust that the OB ... and a night to mature in the fridge ... will do the trick. Oh ... and I should have paid attention to those reviewers who suggested a different pasta (bow ties or shells, perhaps). The "spaghetti" aspect (even though I broke the vermicelli into thirds before boiling it) may make this a bit of a hard sell as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was pretty good; however, I felt like I wanted more shrimp....next time I make this I will add another pound of shrimp to the recipe. My kids actually warmed it up and like it that way also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was really good & great for a big group. There did not seem to be enough mayo & spices so I increased the mayo by 1/2 cup & threw in some more spices & it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I had everything ready and then realized my shrimp was bad :( and it was still good without it so definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I think it would've been better if I used less noodles or more mayo...But, I will definantly try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I used bowtie pasta instead of vermicelli, and garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. I like dill better than thyme, so used dill. I will make this again for a cool summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I agree about the amout of pasta. Half pound is much better. I added a little cajun seasoning and cherry tomatoes sliced in half. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Jones Leggett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States