Shrimp Tempura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I think this is a great batter. I tried it on fresh perch fillets. They were like eating popcorn. I recommend using more ice water to thin down the batter; otherwise everything was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
We did not use this batter recipe for shrimp, and omitted the marinate, but i used the basic tempura batter on onion rings and chicken and it was lovely. It worked the best on the chicken, it stuck perfectly and was SO tasty. The onion rings were good too, but for that particular veggie the batter was a tiny bit too thin. It was SO good though. And perfect since we always have everything on hand anyways. I have already passed this recipe on to my mom! Its wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Lovely. I doubled the recipe and used it with chicken. It was nice and crispy, coated well, good flavor. Will use again, often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Not Specified, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Very good basic batter for frying. Not just for Shrimp although the shrimp was really good. I also used this batter for onion rings too. I didn't see any need to soak in rice wine and salt. I added a little extra salt to the batter and omitted the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This was very good...I doubled it because I had a lot of shrimp. My daughter who usually has to be pushed to finish her dinner had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I had to double the ice water because it was way too thick. Otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These Shrimp Tempura is so close to the Japanese Sushi place I eat at they are so good, with these you can dip them in Japanese Sweet&Sour sauce and just AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Yum! I made the tempura batter for a fondue dinner and it was a huge hit. Very easy to prepare, clung well to the dippers, and fried up beautifully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Great recipe. Husband loved it. Didn't have any rice wine on hand, so I used 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar & 1/4 cup sherry. Shrimp tasted just like the ones at our favorite Japanese restaurant. Excellent for chicken, too. It can be a bit messy when cooking (skimming the oil between batches helps), but I think it's worth the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIJEMINI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
For the batter to stick well you really need to pat the shrimp dry with a paper towel. After dipping in the batter I rolled in Panko bread crumbs for an even crispier coating. Very good but I am not sure I won't just keep using the box tempura mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States