Shrimp Tempura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Very good Sherry. I needed to add more water and I replaced the shortening with a bit of sesame oil. I also threw some toasted sesame seeds into the batter. We used teriyaki sauce with a dash of sesame oil for our dipping sauce. Family was thrilled!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Excellent batter, I didn't marinate them though and they were fabulous. I did some research online and found these tips: pat the shrimp dry and lightly dust them with flour to help the batter adhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Very Good tempura batter, I tried this recipe for chicken nuggets....excellant crispy, and golden brown, just perfect for sweet and sour chicken nuggets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Very light and crispy. Make sure to dry your shrimp well and that your oil is very hot, otherwise they come out greasy and gummy. I added a little sesame seed oil to the marinade than added some sesame seeds to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Great recipe. Husband loved it. Didn't have any rice wine on hand, so I used 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar & 1/4 cup sherry. Shrimp tasted just like the ones at our favorite Japanese restaurant. Excellent for chicken, too. It can be a bit messy when cooking (skimming the oil between batches helps), but I think it's worth the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIJEMINI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
We did not use this batter recipe for shrimp, and omitted the marinate, but i used the basic tempura batter on onion rings and chicken and it was lovely. It worked the best on the chicken, it stuck perfectly and was SO tasty. The onion rings were good too, but for that particular veggie the batter was a tiny bit too thin. It was SO good though. And perfect since we always have everything on hand anyways. I have already passed this recipe on to my mom! Its wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindyart98
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Amazingly authentic tempura. I substituted sesame oil for shortening and added some toasted sesame seeds like another reviewer... Fantastic. For those of you having trouble with the batter sticking... pat dry the shrimp and dredge in white flour before dipping in batter, the standard procedure for frying, and you will be good to go. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyart98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
We enjoyed this batter a lot! I used it on vegetables and it was great. Some of the veggies soaked up too much of the vinegar though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Yum! I made the tempura batter for a fondue dinner and it was a huge hit. Very easy to prepare, clung well to the dippers, and fried up beautifully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Simply awesome!!! We have made this twice; once with jumbo shrimp and once with the smaller cheaper shrimp. My fiance is half Japanese and hated the smaller shrimp because he said"it gets too crispy and tempura is not supposed to be that crispy, but welove the batter espially on jumbo shrimp! When I make the shrimp I also use this batter for Zucchini. My fiance wants me to do broccoli next!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAANDJAKERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States