Shrimp Tempura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Very Good tempura batter, I tried this recipe for chicken nuggets....excellant crispy, and golden brown, just perfect for sweet and sour chicken nuggets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I think this is a great batter. I tried it on fresh perch fillets. They were like eating popcorn. I recommend using more ice water to thin down the batter; otherwise everything was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I used apple-grape juice instead of the rice-wine, and the flavor was good. I give it two stars however, because the batter was messy even though I followed the recipe exactly for the batter-- thin, drippy, causing a mess in the hot oil. A really annoying mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I had to double the ice water because it was way too thick. Otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Very good basic batter for frying. Not just for Shrimp although the shrimp was really good. I also used this batter for onion rings too. I didn't see any need to soak in rice wine and salt. I added a little extra salt to the batter and omitted the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Very good Sherry. I needed to add more water and I replaced the shortening with a bit of sesame oil. I also threw some toasted sesame seeds into the batter. We used teriyaki sauce with a dash of sesame oil for our dipping sauce. Family was thrilled!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Great recipe. Husband loved it. Didn't have any rice wine on hand, so I used 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar & 1/4 cup sherry. Shrimp tasted just like the ones at our favorite Japanese restaurant. Excellent for chicken, too. It can be a bit messy when cooking (skimming the oil between batches helps), but I think it's worth the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIJEMINI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
We enjoyed this batter a lot! I used it on vegetables and it was great. Some of the veggies soaked up too much of the vinegar though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These Shrimp Tempura is so close to the Japanese Sushi place I eat at they are so good, with these you can dip them in Japanese Sweet&Sour sauce and just AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Yum! I made the tempura batter for a fondue dinner and it was a huge hit. Very easy to prepare, clung well to the dippers, and fried up beautifully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States