Shrimp Tempura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Very Good tempura batter, I tried this recipe for chicken nuggets....excellant crispy, and golden brown, just perfect for sweet and sour chicken nuggets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I think this is a great batter. I tried it on fresh perch fillets. They were like eating popcorn. I recommend using more ice water to thin down the batter; otherwise everything was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I used apple-grape juice instead of the rice-wine, and the flavor was good. I give it two stars however, because the batter was messy even though I followed the recipe exactly for the batter-- thin, drippy, causing a mess in the hot oil. A really annoying mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I had to double the ice water because it was way too thick. Otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Very good basic batter for frying. Not just for Shrimp although the shrimp was really good. I also used this batter for onion rings too. I didn't see any need to soak in rice wine and salt. I added a little extra salt to the batter and omitted the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Very good Sherry. I needed to add more water and I replaced the shortening with a bit of sesame oil. I also threw some toasted sesame seeds into the batter. We used teriyaki sauce with a dash of sesame oil for our dipping sauce. Family was thrilled!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Great recipe. Husband loved it. Didn't have any rice wine on hand, so I used 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar & 1/4 cup sherry. Shrimp tasted just like the ones at our favorite Japanese restaurant. Excellent for chicken, too. It can be a bit messy when cooking (skimming the oil between batches helps), but I think it's worth the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIJEMINI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
We enjoyed this batter a lot! I used it on vegetables and it was great. Some of the veggies soaked up too much of the vinegar though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These Shrimp Tempura is so close to the Japanese Sushi place I eat at they are so good, with these you can dip them in Japanese Sweet&Sour sauce and just AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Yum! I made the tempura batter for a fondue dinner and it was a huge hit. Very easy to prepare, clung well to the dippers, and fried up beautifully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States