Shrimp Tempura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
We did not use this batter recipe for shrimp, and omitted the marinate, but i used the basic tempura batter on onion rings and chicken and it was lovely. It worked the best on the chicken, it stuck perfectly and was SO tasty. The onion rings were good too, but for that particular veggie the batter was a tiny bit too thin. It was SO good though. And perfect since we always have everything on hand anyways. I have already passed this recipe on to my mom! Its wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Okay, read the other reviews and it's not just me. The recipe is really good but the batter didn't stick and was very messy. I enjoyed it but will also use less water next time and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
OK, I would have given this 5 stars, because my whole family loved the taste and flavor of the shrimp, and it was actually a great tasting recipie; however, the only complaint I have is that the batter was not thick enough and I follwed the recipie exactly, but I doubled it. In fact, the shrimp barely had any batter on them. If the batter was thicker, it would have been AWESOME! Maybe next time when I make this, I wont add as much water. Other than that, it did taste pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canfern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Yum! I made the tempura batter for a fondue dinner and it was a huge hit. Very easy to prepare, clung well to the dippers, and fried up beautifully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These Shrimp Tempura is so close to the Japanese Sushi place I eat at they are so good, with these you can dip them in Japanese Sweet&Sour sauce and just AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
We enjoyed this batter a lot! I used it on vegetables and it was great. Some of the veggies soaked up too much of the vinegar though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Great recipe. Husband loved it. Didn't have any rice wine on hand, so I used 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar & 1/4 cup sherry. Shrimp tasted just like the ones at our favorite Japanese restaurant. Excellent for chicken, too. It can be a bit messy when cooking (skimming the oil between batches helps), but I think it's worth the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIJEMINI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Very good Sherry. I needed to add more water and I replaced the shortening with a bit of sesame oil. I also threw some toasted sesame seeds into the batter. We used teriyaki sauce with a dash of sesame oil for our dipping sauce. Family was thrilled!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Very good basic batter for frying. Not just for Shrimp although the shrimp was really good. I also used this batter for onion rings too. I didn't see any need to soak in rice wine and salt. I added a little extra salt to the batter and omitted the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I had to double the ice water because it was way too thick. Otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States