Shrimp Tempura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Fantastic! And the tempura batter can be used on just about anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
OMG!! This is such a great tempura recipe!!! i didnt have corn starch or shortening, i substituded for corn meal and butter and it STILL turned out amazing! I made onion rings with the recipe and dusted garlic salt when I took them out of the oil. I made about 2-3 onions and in about...15-20 minutes, the plate was licked clean, my family ate them all, I think I only had a couple to taste. Im making more as I type but I had to review it first! Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I used the batter part of this recipe for vegetable tempura. The only thing I did differently was to use sesame oil in the place of shortening, because I didn't have any. I also used less oil. This was my first time making tempura, and it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very nice texture and so easy to do. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Tasty, but labor intensive - requires a helper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Delicious! So good that I created an allrecipes account so I could rate it. I didn't use shrimp, I used asparagus, carrot, frozen green beans, bell pepper, and even used the leftover batter to fry a mars bar and a banana! All were excellent, crispy, golden, perfect. And I've never been very good at frying. My fiance is already dreaming of having a "tempura party" and inviting our friends to bring things to fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Good recipe, the key is not to marinate the shrimp though! or at least that's the way I liked it! when marinated it tasted way too soury, not they way they serve it in a Japanese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reem Chavez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I was really surprised with how much I like this. Given the ingredients I didn't expect much flavor, and it isn't "flavorful", but it definitely has a good flavor. I substituted rice vinegar for the wine and used gluten free all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Perfect! I never made tempura before - made it for our family Christmas dinner. Everyone RAVED. So simple to make. Fries up light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindyart98
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Amazingly authentic tempura. I substituted sesame oil for shortening and added some toasted sesame seeds like another reviewer... Fantastic. For those of you having trouble with the batter sticking... pat dry the shrimp and dredge in white flour before dipping in batter, the standard procedure for frying, and you will be good to go. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyart98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States