Shrimp Tempura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Based on reviews I doubled the recipe (made both shrimp and sweet potatoes) but didn't need to. I used a little less water than called for, and used sesame oil instead of shortening because I didn't have any. Made the mix a couple of hours ahead and refrigerated until I needed it, which kept everything cold. I dried my shrimp and veggies completely (no need for flour as some have said if you dry your food well) and the batter clung very well. There is not a lot of flavor to this batter, which is ok because the idea is to taste the veggies and the sauce. My only complaint is that the shrimp/veggies get cold very quickly, and as they did, the batter got soft. You literally have to eat this within a couple of minutes. I used some of it in sushi rolls and it was soggy by the time it made it to the plate. Not a bad recipe, but will try others before coming back to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I added 50% extra water from the original recipe for great meats. I added 100% extra water from the original recipe for a very delicate and crispy coating for vegetables. Excellent recipe - versatile if you change amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly. Best tempura recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Great recipe. I also fried fish, oysters, asparagus, mushrooms. Beautiful crispy batter. I fried them in rice bran oil, very clean flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This recipe also works really well on vegetables (squash, broccoli, mushrooms). Gin is a good alternative to the rice wine, as well as replacing the shortening with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Don't forget to purchase sustainably caught seafood as ocean stocks are predicted to deplete by 2050 if everyone does nothing. Your children will thank you :). This recipe is delicious! I paired it with homemade tempura sauce and it was soooo good. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
For all of you who like this recipe, fine. But in reality, you don't need ALL those ingredients! Not for a true tempura batter! This one is simply too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is so good it possibly can't be good for you. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
The flavor seemed spot on to me and was super yummy. But the texture seemed a little off, and it went on particularly thick for the tempura that I'm used to. Not only that, but I'm also used to the batter cooking up much flakier. Granted it was my first try. Aside from that, it was exceptionally delicious. I skipped the marinade but otherwise followed it to a T with the addition of lots of veggies, too. It was amazing on sweet potatoes and sugar snap peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made this the other night using the marinade for the shrimp along with the tempura batter and then did some veggies (mushrooms, onions, zucchini, red pepper, broccoli and greens beans) with just the batter alone (also thinned it out a bit). I got rave reviews and the batter stayed crispy too. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States