Shrimp Tempura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
The batter was delicious, even my husband said so. And my dog really enjoyed licking the bowl. Apparently, peeling the shrimp is an important step, otherwise your dish will be very crunchy and hard to chew. Next time I won't "forget".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Used beer instead of rice wine and instead of ice water, I used the beer I marinated the shrimp in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Love love love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Good recipe. Note that rice wine is not vinegar. It's sake. Also, if you don't have sake, use beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Suzuki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Outrageously good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This is an excellent tempura recipe! Like any batter recipes you have to adjust to each use (humidity etc. each day can vary how a batter turns out) This recipe is VERY close to what anyone needs to work from (often find needing to add just a touch more ice water) DO NOT OVER MIX.(using chopsticks are wonderful for preventing over-mixing) Crisp, Light, Easy. Thank you Sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIMOOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Great recipe. Didn't change a thing. Tried it with shrimp. Came out great. The family loved it. Crispy and delicious. Also tried with boneless chicken breast cut into small shrimp size strips. It came out great. Make sure the water is very cold. This is key to perfect tempura batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
i do not add the shortening. I did try it with shortening one time and it was actually better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Based on reviews I doubled the recipe (made both shrimp and sweet potatoes) but didn't need to. I used a little less water than called for, and used sesame oil instead of shortening because I didn't have any. Made the mix a couple of hours ahead and refrigerated until I needed it, which kept everything cold. I dried my shrimp and veggies completely (no need for flour as some have said if you dry your food well) and the batter clung very well. There is not a lot of flavor to this batter, which is ok because the idea is to taste the veggies and the sauce. My only complaint is that the shrimp/veggies get cold very quickly, and as they did, the batter got soft. You literally have to eat this within a couple of minutes. I used some of it in sushi rolls and it was soggy by the time it made it to the plate. Not a bad recipe, but will try others before coming back to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I added 50% extra water from the original recipe for great meats. I added 100% extra water from the original recipe for a very delicate and crispy coating for vegetables. Excellent recipe - versatile if you change amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States