Shrimp Tempura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jean Flowers Theile
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
love this recipe as is. also like using soda water instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Way too heavy to be called a tempura batter. My oil was very hot, shrimp were dried and they still turned out tough and doughy with a weird sweet taste. I thought I had made a mistake with my measurements, but I double checked and it was correct. I will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't use shortening and it came out perfectly. Next time I'm going to try vegetables too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
The batter was delicious, even my husband said so. And my dog really enjoyed licking the bowl. Apparently, peeling the shrimp is an important step, otherwise your dish will be very crunchy and hard to chew. Next time I won't "forget".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Used beer instead of rice wine and instead of ice water, I used the beer I marinated the shrimp in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Love love love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Good recipe. Note that rice wine is not vinegar. It's sake. Also, if you don't have sake, use beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Suzuki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Outrageously good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This is an excellent tempura recipe! Like any batter recipes you have to adjust to each use (humidity etc. each day can vary how a batter turns out) This recipe is VERY close to what anyone needs to work from (often find needing to add just a touch more ice water) DO NOT OVER MIX.(using chopsticks are wonderful for preventing over-mixing) Crisp, Light, Easy. Thank you Sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIMOOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Great recipe. Didn't change a thing. Tried it with shrimp. Came out great. The family loved it. Crispy and delicious. Also tried with boneless chicken breast cut into small shrimp size strips. It came out great. Make sure the water is very cold. This is key to perfect tempura batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States