Shrimp Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I'd give 10 stars if I could! I did modify the recipe a bit though, making it more of a savory than sweet dish. I didn't have mango, so just left it out. Replaced the red onion with shallot. And cooked the shrimp in butter, garlic and a little lemon juice, leaving out the honey. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Forget the honey butter, sauté the shrimp in olive oil and mix with taco seasoning, go lighter on the cilantro as others suggested, and add one half chopped red pepper! Divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is a new favorite-- really delicious. The first time I made this, I followed the recipe except for the honey butter-- garlic and butter is just fine for the shrimp. These are also great vegetarian (nix the shrimp and add some blackbeans and/or rice), and also as fish tacos (bake some tilapia and dust it with whatever seasonings you like). The mango salsa is also great alone with your favorite tortilla chips. Be careful with the cilantro-- 1/2 is a good amount as long as it doesn't get packed. The second time I made this, the cilantro was wet and so 1/2 cup wound up being about double what I should have added-- just about ruined the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Was a hit with the family! Upon suggestion from other reviews, I also cut my cilantro portion in half, and was still a strong flavor in the salsa, so I would recommend the same. Also, took the advice of marinating in a taco/fajita seasoning instead of honey butter. It just gave it a little more zing to the shrimp, which I wanted. A great recipe and I suggest anyone try this at least once! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
AMAZING!!! I ate these tacos until I was stuffed. Seeing all the reviews where the honey butter shrimp was bland, I opted to follow the suggestion of one reviewer to saute the shrimp in olive oil mixed with a little taco seasoning. It was awesome and so quick to prepare. This will be in the "favorites" section of my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing. I like the mango salsa so much I make it just to munch on with tortilla chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Yum! This was excellent! I didn't have any pre-made honey butter, so I whisked a tbsp. of honey into 3 tbsp of melted butter. I also added 1/8 tsp chipotle chili powder and 1/2 tsp Mexican oregano to the shrimp as it cooked, and I had large shrimp on hand so I used them. Used low-carb multigrain tortillas instead of flour tortillas, too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was a delicious change of pace from the usual tacos! After reading other comments, I opted to do away with the honey butter. While sauteing the shrimp in regular butter, I sprinkled it with cayenne pepper to add a little heat. After the shrimp was done, I drizzled a little honey over them to add a little extra sweetness. I also didn't have fresh cilantro so I added 1/4 of what the recipe called for. It's a strong flavor, and a little goes a long way, anyway. So yummy! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
freaking scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Just love making the salsa...very refreshing...but cut way back on the red onion otherwise it is too overpowering and the subtle avocado/mango flavors get lost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWMETZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States