Shrimp Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter, and the mango avocado salsa was seriously, deliciously, mouth-wateringly spectacular. But the one disappointment was that the shrimp ended up tasting just a little bland. I think maybe next time I'll try marinating them in some garlic butter and leave out the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I'd give 10 stars if I could! I did modify the recipe a bit though, making it more of a savory than sweet dish. I didn't have mango, so just left it out. Replaced the red onion with shallot. And cooked the shrimp in butter, garlic and a little lemon juice, leaving out the honey. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The salsa for this recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I tried this recipe last night and it was really delicious! The mango is such a nice change of pace for me and I really enjoyed the subtle sweet taste of the shrimp cooked in the honey butter. I didnt have any pre-made honey butter so I just melted some butter in the pan and used a whisk to blend in some honey. I used some of the left over mango salsa today for lunch on some tilapia and it was really really good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is a new favorite-- really delicious. The first time I made this, I followed the recipe except for the honey butter-- garlic and butter is just fine for the shrimp. These are also great vegetarian (nix the shrimp and add some blackbeans and/or rice), and also as fish tacos (bake some tilapia and dust it with whatever seasonings you like). The mango salsa is also great alone with your favorite tortilla chips. Be careful with the cilantro-- 1/2 is a good amount as long as it doesn't get packed. The second time I made this, the cilantro was wet and so 1/2 cup wound up being about double what I should have added-- just about ruined the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Made these last night just as the recipe states. Thought they were great! We loved the flavors, the salsa was so fresh and delicious. It had a Caribbean flair to it. Definately on our "keeper" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
So amazing! Despite never having had them before, I had a craving for shrimp tacos. I made this recipe exactly as directed (only I added a dollop of sour cream) and they were sublime! I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obituary mambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Great recipe except for the honey butter. We didn't care for the sweetness, but without it they would be great for us, the salsa was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I should have trusted my instincts. Honey and shrimp? Not good. The salsa was good, but the shrimp were strangly sweet and smelled odd. And practically a clove of garlic per serving might have been too much. It's a pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Full of fresh, lovely flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States