Shrimp Surprise Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This is so addictive, I'm making it tonight for the 3rd time in 2 weeks. The only thing I do differently is, I buy whatever cooked shrimp is on sale at the fish counter (I'm not wild about canned shrimp) and then I chop it into small bites and when I sprinkle it over the cream cheese mixture, I press it into the cream cheese with the back of a spoon so it's not on top, it's in the cheese, sour cream, mayo mixture. No one gets a bite with no shrimp that way. I love this recipe. It's perfect for when company comes or I cut it in half for just us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years...excellent recipe - most love it. The only thing I do different is use frozen tiny shrimp...SO MUCH better than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I like to also add a can of crabmeat to the mix-it adds great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I love this recipe, I have made it many times. I do like to use red pepper instead of green, and I also layer the ingredients. So the cream cheese mixture on the bottom, then the cocktail sauce mixed with garlic, then the shrimp, peppers, green onions, tomatoes, then cheese. I also prefer to use marble cheese, although the mozzarella is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is a great dip, particularly when served with tortilla chips. And by the way, except for the garlic, exactly the recipe from Company's Coming Appetizer book. I own it, and have been making this dip for about 15 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is my go to recipe when I need to take an appetizer some where. I usually omit the shrimp and use a couple different color of peppers for added flair. I usually use tortilla chips to serve instead of crackers. I've found that the taste of cocktail sauces vary. Some are somewhat overpowering. Try various ones to find one that you like. Guests have enjoyed this dish once it has a chance to sit a while. The flavors seem to gel together. I also suggest draining the tomato or removing the seeds. It will help the dish not get watery as it sits. My favorite part is the leftovers all thrown together in the bowl the next morning. Fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
My guests liked it or at least they said they did. I did not. The shrimp were so overwhelmed by the garlic, gr onion, gr pepper and cocktail sauce you can't taste the shrimp or crab. I even put a can of crabmeat in the mayo mixture. It reminded me of a horrible salsa with a dollop of mayo on the bottom. 2 **'s only because of the other peoples opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I make this spread every year at Christmas time, and it is ALWAYS a huge hit! * I do not add the garlic, however, and I think that if I were too, I would not add quite as much as called for. I also typically do not use the 4 full cans of shrimp, and sometimes mix it up a bit by using both crab and shrimp * Also, make sure your cream cheese is softened, so you don't get the lumps as you are mixing it I never have to worry about leftovers with this spread - delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was just ok I think I was to much cocktail sauce for my taste. I will make again with less cocktail sauce and more seafood. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOLJO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I took this to a party and everyone loved it. The only changes I made were I omitted the chopped tomatoes (not a tomato fan!) and used minced garlic from a jar instead of fresh garlic. Fabulous dip- will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States