Shrimp Surprise Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Yummie ....... used red peppers as suggested instead of green. Any cheese would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was just ok I think I was to much cocktail sauce for my taste. I will make again with less cocktail sauce and more seafood. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOLJO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I love this recipe, I have made it many times. I do like to use red pepper instead of green, and I also layer the ingredients. So the cream cheese mixture on the bottom, then the cocktail sauce mixed with garlic, then the shrimp, peppers, green onions, tomatoes, then cheese. I also prefer to use marble cheese, although the mozzarella is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Yummo! Super easy and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
One of my favorite appetizers! This is so easy to make and so delicious. I will be making this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Blackfalds, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
My guests liked it or at least they said they did. I did not. The shrimp were so overwhelmed by the garlic, gr onion, gr pepper and cocktail sauce you can't taste the shrimp or crab. I even put a can of crabmeat in the mayo mixture. It reminded me of a horrible salsa with a dollop of mayo on the bottom. 2 **'s only because of the other peoples opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This is so addictive, I'm making it tonight for the 3rd time in 2 weeks. The only thing I do differently is, I buy whatever cooked shrimp is on sale at the fish counter (I'm not wild about canned shrimp) and then I chop it into small bites and when I sprinkle it over the cream cheese mixture, I press it into the cream cheese with the back of a spoon so it's not on top, it's in the cheese, sour cream, mayo mixture. No one gets a bite with no shrimp that way. I love this recipe. It's perfect for when company comes or I cut it in half for just us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I like to also add a can of crabmeat to the mix-it adds great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
My husband LOVES this! I used both red and green peppers and took to a Christmas party; it was a hit! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This was a huge hit, the tray was gone quickly. I used red instead of green peppers, and added some pickled jalepenos to create the true "surprise". It's the perfect thing to bring to a party, people will snack on it all night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States