Shrimp Surprise Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is so addicting! I make it the day before - this gives it time for the ingredients to blend and the cocktail sauce to not taste so overpowering. I followed the advice of a reviewer and used shrimp from a shrimp ring. Don't cut it into little pieces - you won't even notice it's in there. I made this mistake! I'll cut them in half or leave them whole next time. I also added a couple Tbsp of salsa and some garlic salt. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Next time I will not put sour cream... kids didn't like it, said it was too sour.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Gauvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I love this recipe! I don't put in as much garlic - and I substitute bacon for the shrimp (We have shell fish allergies in our family)and have also used salsa instead of seafood sauce on occasion. But it is always a hit with the guests and so simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
It was a big hit at Super Bowl, as I expected. However, I was hoping for more zing in the recipe. I will definitely make this again but perhaps with some cayenne pepper mixed in or some banana peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was a huge hit, very easy to make. I used larger shrimp and it was a little difficult to get them on the cracker and the bite was a little large. I will use a smaller size next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is our all time family favorite at any function. It goes over well where ever I bring it. It works really well without shrimp, in fact I almost always make it without. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I make this spread every year at Christmas time, and it is ALWAYS a huge hit! * I do not add the garlic, however, and I think that if I were too, I would not add quite as much as called for. I also typically do not use the 4 full cans of shrimp, and sometimes mix it up a bit by using both crab and shrimp * Also, make sure your cream cheese is softened, so you don't get the lumps as you are mixing it I never have to worry about leftovers with this spread - delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is my go to recipe when I need to take an appetizer some where. I usually omit the shrimp and use a couple different color of peppers for added flair. I usually use tortilla chips to serve instead of crackers. I've found that the taste of cocktail sauces vary. Some are somewhat overpowering. Try various ones to find one that you like. Guests have enjoyed this dish once it has a chance to sit a while. The flavors seem to gel together. I also suggest draining the tomato or removing the seeds. It will help the dish not get watery as it sits. My favorite part is the leftovers all thrown together in the bowl the next morning. Fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is a great dip, particularly when served with tortilla chips. And by the way, except for the garlic, exactly the recipe from Company's Coming Appetizer book. I own it, and have been making this dip for about 15 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years...excellent recipe - most love it. The only thing I do different is use frozen tiny shrimp...SO MUCH better than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States