Shrimp Summer Rolls with Asian Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
An excellent recipe. Easy and very tasty. I agree with the previous reviewer that the rolls are a tad salty (I would also cut down on the teriyaki). I thought the peanut sauce, however, was excellent as is. I fried the rolls and have a piece of advice on that front: use two rice papers to wrap each roll. With only one, they often burst in the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This looked like a good recipe but something was missing. I added mung bean noodles and thin strips of cucumber which worked very well. I also added a second layer of rice paper because the single layer kept tearing. I brought the finished rolls to a party and they were a hit. All in all very delicious and I'll make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I took this to a 4th of July picnic and it was a hit. I used a lot more napa cabbage, because once you toss it with the sauce it wilts and goes down in volume. I think next time I might try adding some diced cucumber or fresh beans sprouts to add a bit more texture to the fill. If you double or triple the recipe you don't have to do the same with the sauce there was more than enough. Someone in the group was allergic to peanuts and he thought they were great just plain. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This is for aaaaaaaaaa, it looks like you rated this dish without even trying it. Before you comment on something being more adult, check out yourself first.... Many recipes may not agree with our taste and this is why we have the ability to adjust them to suit our taste... It dosen't take a professional chef or an "adult" to tweak a recipe to our liking.... Thank goodness we have sites like this and many thanks to the people who submit these recipes... His many Blessings always..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
These were fab! I also used some bagged cabbage to save time because I had to make a bunch of them. If you are having trouble with the wrappers ripping, you might be getting them too wet. Just dampen them and allow the water to be absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
These were yummy. The possibilities are endless. I've been making lumpia for 30 years. I usually saute the filling (I use pork, bagged slaw, add garlic & onions), let it cool a bit & wrap in only romaine leaves. You can use just about any combo of vegetables & cooked meat or make them totally vegetarian. Serve raw in rice papers or lettuce or wrap in a spring roll or egg roll wrapper and deep fry. For dipping, I make an egg foo young sauce; cornstarch, soy sauce, etc. You can even use sweet and sour sauce out of the bottle. And of course, there's peanut sauce. Make it your own. They go fast at parties! Just be sure you cook your meat thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Love it! Added bean sprouts, and cucumber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Fantastic for appetizer or for lunch. Love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have not tried this recipe, but it sounds excellent. My reason for reviewing is to share the method I learned for working with the rice paper wrappers: fill a wide, shallow bowl with hot water and slide the wrapper in. Let sit until soft, then remove carefully, fill and roll. They do need to be handled with care. It works best if you change the water in the bowl every few wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Spring rolls were great. We chose to fry them. The peanut sauce was too heavy and over powered the taste of the roll. I would recommend a sweet chili sauce or a nuoc mam Cham sauce to compliment the delicate favors of the shrimp. Will definitely make them again but not with this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States