Shrimp Summer Rolls with Asian Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very nice flavor but things didn't come together for me. The veggie/teriyaki sauce was too watery and then affecting my rolling--they ended up a little goopy. The peanut sauce was delicious but super super thick so I added a fair amount of hot water, to thin it out. Then I tried the suggestion of baking them as I don't have a grill and I knew frying them wouldn't work b/c they were too goopy--but did the 10 minutes as suggested by another poster and the wrapper was gooey. Taste wise, the flavors were so nice and it seemed like a healthy recipe with potential but it was way too garlicky for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I prepared the recipe exactly, other than following the advice of many and reducing the amount of teriyaki sauce. The garlic and ginger flavor was so overpowering that it drowned out every other flavor in the rolls. Strange, because both of us have eaten some pretty creative Asian/Oriental recipes (we used to live near NY and went to Chinatown often), but this dish was just plain bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Spring rolls were great. We chose to fry them. The peanut sauce was too heavy and over powered the taste of the roll. I would recommend a sweet chili sauce or a nuoc mam Cham sauce to compliment the delicate favors of the shrimp. Will definitely make them again but not with this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Fantastic for appetizer or for lunch. Love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Love it! Added bean sprouts, and cucumber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
These were good. Would be better with less salt. Will do what others have done to modify the salt content. As far as this go round - was easy, simple, fresh, great hot summer night dinner. Will make again - but less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have not tried this recipe, but it sounds excellent. My reason for reviewing is to share the method I learned for working with the rice paper wrappers: fill a wide, shallow bowl with hot water and slide the wrapper in. Let sit until soft, then remove carefully, fill and roll. They do need to be handled with care. It works best if you change the water in the bowl every few wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
These were yummy. The possibilities are endless. I've been making lumpia for 30 years. I usually saute the filling (I use pork, bagged slaw, add garlic & onions), let it cool a bit & wrap in only romaine leaves. You can use just about any combo of vegetables & cooked meat or make them totally vegetarian. Serve raw in rice papers or lettuce or wrap in a spring roll or egg roll wrapper and deep fry. For dipping, I make an egg foo young sauce; cornstarch, soy sauce, etc. You can even use sweet and sour sauce out of the bottle. And of course, there's peanut sauce. Make it your own. They go fast at parties! Just be sure you cook your meat thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
VERY TASTY, I LOVED THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Tony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
These were fab! I also used some bagged cabbage to save time because I had to make a bunch of them. If you are having trouble with the wrappers ripping, you might be getting them too wet. Just dampen them and allow the water to be absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States