Shrimp Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Mmmmm, mm! If the fact that I made what I thought would be for two nights ended up being only enough for tonight says anything, then it will speak to how much Hubs and I enjoyed this. Bland? Not for us, but we appreciate the flavor of the food itself and don’t like masking it with a lot of distracting seasoning. For that reason, I didn’t even use the ginger, which neither of us cares for. The sesame oil adds just what is needed for complexity of flavor and I also added a dribble of mirin (sweet rice wine) to the cornstarch/soy sauce/ chicken broth mixture. While it wasn’t necessary, I knew it would be a good fit. Instead of garlic powder I tossed in some fresh, minced, tho’ I don’t think the dish would suffer using the garlic powder as directed. For the “cut up fresh vegetables” I used what I had in the fridge – zucchini, mushrooms, sweet onion and baby bok choy. As for the shrimp, I used the big guys, 16-20 count. I tossed them in the hot pan straight from the freezer and they were done in just a few minutes – in other words, don’t even bother thawing them first. I’m sure I’ll make this again – exactly the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I love stir fry and I love shrimp so when I saw this recipe I got excited. To my dismay this recipe was very bland. My 12 y/o daughter didn't care for it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was really good, not too much spice - the flavor of the vegetables and shrimp is the focus. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
We liked this, I did add more soy sauce, ginger and fresh garlic. I well be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I had to add a bit more soy sauce and ginger at the end to save it from being bland. Good start to a good recipe. Sauce worked out well, this is easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil' nik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I had no cornstarch so I used two tablespoon of all purpose flour, I was out of chicken broth so I made a 2 cups of very mild chicken boullion from the Knorr's grandule. I boiled the water for the boullion with the shrimp tails that I removed from my frozen shrimp. Cooled then strained the broth. The fully cooked tail-on package cost less. I only made 3 cups of rice and combined everything together. I used cabbage and asparagus and onion. I added the shrimp only after everything was done. Covered and let stand about 10 minutes...yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Really good! Add a little extra soy sauce. And use real garlic and ginger. Adds more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was bland. I decided to make the sauce, and marinate the shrimp and veggies in it, and grill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I doubled the soy sauce and sesame oil. Also, I added a tablespoon of Teriyaki sauce. I used two cloves of fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This dish was simply amazing. The sauce was thick and had an amazing taste. I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chorusgirl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States