Shrimp Spread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
if i had to rate this recipe on my own, i'd give it 3 stars, but the company i made it for raved and it was gone in abt. 5 mins. i think that must be my pallate where shrimp is concerned since it is my fav. food on the planet. i thought all the ingredients way over-powered the shrimp. if you like a heavy appetizer with a hint of shrimp flavor, this is the recipe for you! i'm not being sarcastic, obviously lots of people groove to this kind of dish! i only changed a few things (basics as i don't believe in messing too much w/recipes on the first go round)--i used dbl. the amt. of chopped, raw shrimp, subbed 1/2 t. cayenne for the hot sauce, omitted the lemon pepper per others' suggestion, and baked covered which took abt. 10 mins longer. i think this recipe should be re-named 'cheese-lovers' spread with shrimp'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Very, very nice appetizer to add to our fun of Christmas tree chopping with our wonderful friends. I used three cans of shrimp, added an additional cup of cheddar, used a lot more hot sauce, as my gang loves to "kick it up a notch", and served on party rye. Thanks Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
We were having company and at the last minute I remembered the shrimp that was in my freezer. Well, as you can imagine, it had some freezer-burn and I was ready to toss it till my hubby said, why don't you go to that recipe place online and find something to do with the shrimp?! I found this recipe and we loved it! I did add a bit of cayenne and a dash of worstershire along with my Tabasco as others had suggested, I chopped up the shrimp and it was fabulous~who knew the shrimp wasn't in its finest form? It was gone in about 5 minutes and I didn't have to ditch the shrimp!! Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
This is one of my most favorite appetizer recipes. I've made it several times and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I prepared this for a Christmas party today. It received rave reviews. My son who is 5 loved it, although alot of children aren't into seafood. I was asked for the recipe. Thanks, Dawn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I left out the lemon pepper and the hot pepper sauce, but nobody seemed to mind. The bowl was licked clean within a half hour.Yummy recipe, thanks, Joan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
Two things that make a difference: Sharp cheddar is a little overpowering. Lightly peppered water table crackers add a nice "bite"... not "hot".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I sauted fresh shrimp in fresh garlic, onion and olive oil. then mixed everything in mixer and added garlic powder and onion powder. it was just perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
AMAZING. This recipe is delicious. Don't skip the dill, it gives an unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I loved this spread. I got a lot of requests for the recipe when I made it for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States