Shrimp Spread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
We were having company and at the last minute I remembered the shrimp that was in my freezer. Well, as you can imagine, it had some freezer-burn and I was ready to toss it till my hubby said, why don't you go to that recipe place online and find something to do with the shrimp?! I found this recipe and we loved it! I did add a bit of cayenne and a dash of worstershire along with my Tabasco as others had suggested, I chopped up the shrimp and it was fabulous~who knew the shrimp wasn't in its finest form? It was gone in about 5 minutes and I didn't have to ditch the shrimp!! Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
A little to rich for me, otherwise ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is delicious. As others said add more shrimp. We had it cold and it was good. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pizzafreak
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Pretty darn good, I actually meant to follow the recipe exactly, but for some reason I forgot the minced onion, I didn't miss it too much though. Very cheesy! I also added an extra can of shrimp and I'm sure glad I did, still only a hint of shrimp flavor. Delicious Spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pizzafreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
if i had to rate this recipe on my own, i'd give it 3 stars, but the company i made it for raved and it was gone in abt. 5 mins. i think that must be my pallate where shrimp is concerned since it is my fav. food on the planet. i thought all the ingredients way over-powered the shrimp. if you like a heavy appetizer with a hint of shrimp flavor, this is the recipe for you! i'm not being sarcastic, obviously lots of people groove to this kind of dish! i only changed a few things (basics as i don't believe in messing too much w/recipes on the first go round)--i used dbl. the amt. of chopped, raw shrimp, subbed 1/2 t. cayenne for the hot sauce, omitted the lemon pepper per others' suggestion, and baked covered which took abt. 10 mins longer. i think this recipe should be re-named 'cheese-lovers' spread with shrimp'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Excellent dip! My favorite to take to parties, always get asked for the receipe. I use fresh or frozen shirmp chopped fine (canned has a funny flavor to me). I triple the tabasco and add a bit more horshradish for adult crowds. I like mixing it together early in the day and then pop in the oven before the guest arrive,gives the flavors a chance to meld. Tortilla chips or even fritos work well or for a nicer presentation I use melba toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
As a dip I found this to be a little bland for my taste. Next time I think I'll play around with differnt spices or add more hot sauce for more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is without fail the best appetizer at the party! I've been making it for 4+ years now, and my friends and family request not only the recipe, but that I bring it to every get together. Easy and quick to make too! If you're looking to please the crowd, don't hesitate to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I didn't care for this but still giving 4 stars as my guests thought it was good. My guests seem to prefer it with tortilla chips and left the crackers untouched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I added and extra can of shrimp. Fantastic recipe. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States