Shrimp Scampi with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jason
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I made this dish tonight, although it's essentially Tyler Florence's Shrimp Scampi with Linguini, nearly word for word. Regardless, it turned out awesome. I had some mushrooms I was looking to use and saute'd them with the shallots and garlic. One step that should be added is to reserve one cup of the pasta water, which should be added just prior to adding the pasta and shrimp. This adds starch and helps give the sauce a smooth texter. Hint, you can find a video of this being made on the FoodNetwork website. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
loved it! Unfortunately, we ate it before I remembered to add a photo. I like my food a little spicy, so I added more red pepper and salt. Easy and delicious. Try it, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjpatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This dish was very easy and extremely tasty!! I'm so happy to find such an awesome dish to add to my favorites. Since I don't carry fresh lemons...and I'm usually a spur of the moment cook...I substituted the fresh lemon and pepper dashes with a Lemon Pepper seasoning. It turned out great and added the lemon flavor. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcellino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Made as directed but also added 1 cup pasta water to sauce as suggested by one reviewer. This was light, refreshing, delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I made this last night for Valentine's after remembering a similar dish my husband and I had on vacation. I was really worried my husband wouldn't like it (he's picky about seafood dishes) but after one bite, he declared his approval and I squealed with delight. This dish is amazing (and SUPER simple!) I didn't have any shallots, but I used half a diced white onion and it was superb. I think I also used a bit more butter than what was called for, but hey. It's was Valentine's Day! I left out the wine (again, didn't have any) but now that my husband likes it, I plan to sneak it in there the next time I make it...and there will be a next time. The lemon makes it taste fresh and yummy and delicious. I would say I'm looking forward to the leftovers, but we ate the whole thing! I'm happy report that this will be making an appearance in our kitchen again and I'd love to try it with a combination of shrimp, lobster, and/or crab. I truly can't say enough about this recipe. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Made this tonight for my family for Valentines, it was great! It was easy! It was relatively quick! All pros in my book. I made this as written and thought it was terrific. Great choice for a weeknight meal or Lent and nice enough for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe. I made as written and did not add the pasta water, as some have suggested. I have no regrets in putting my trust in the author of the recipe. I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Photo by slgilde
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This recipe was easy and quick to make. We loved the flavors and will make again and again. We prepared as written except we used spinach linguini and also added artichokes. Next time we will add half the pasta as we are only serving two. It was a little dry with 16 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slgilde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is a delicious recipe. I substituted dried Tarragon for parsley and used garlic infused olive oil. Loved it! I make this when I have left over boiled shrimp from shrimp cocktail. I toss the cooked shrimp in for about 1 1/2 min. to heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was just okay for us. I made it exactly as written but did add the one cup of pasta water as suggested by others who gave this recipe higher reviews. I felt this dish did not have enough depth of flavor; all we really tasted was lemon. I'd probably up the garlic, decrease the lemon and reduce the sauce more if I bothered to make it again. Personally I like Ina Garten's recipe much better so I'll probably stick to that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Belmont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Barilla® Tri-Color Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States