Shrimp Scampi with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jason
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I made this dish tonight; it turned out awesome. I had some mushrooms I was looking to use and sauteed them with the shallots and garlic. One step that should be added is to reserve one cup of the pasta water, which should be added just prior to adding the pasta and shrimp. This adds starch and helps give the sauce a smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
loved it! Unfortunately, we ate it before I remembered to add a photo. I like my food a little spicy, so I added more red pepper and salt. Easy and delicious. Try it, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjpatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This dish was very easy and extremely tasty!! I'm so happy to find such an awesome dish to add to my favorites. Since I don't carry fresh lemons...and I'm usually a spur of the moment cook...I substituted the fresh lemon and pepper dashes with a Lemon Pepper seasoning. It turned out great and added the lemon flavor. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcellino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I made this last night for Valentine's after remembering a similar dish my husband and I had on vacation. I was really worried my husband wouldn't like it (he's picky about seafood dishes) but after one bite, he declared his approval and I squealed with delight. This dish is amazing (and SUPER simple!) I didn't have any shallots, but I used half a diced white onion and it was superb. I think I also used a bit more butter than what was called for, but hey. It's was Valentine's Day! I left out the wine (again, didn't have any) but now that my husband likes it, I plan to sneak it in there the next time I make it...and there will be a next time. The lemon makes it taste fresh and yummy and delicious. I would say I'm looking forward to the leftovers, but we ate the whole thing! I'm happy report that this will be making an appearance in our kitchen again and I'd love to try it with a combination of shrimp, lobster, and/or crab. I truly can't say enough about this recipe. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Made as directed but also added 1 cup pasta water to sauce as suggested by one reviewer. This was light, refreshing, delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Made this tonight for my family for Valentines, it was great! It was easy! It was relatively quick! All pros in my book. I made this as written and thought it was terrific. Great choice for a weeknight meal or Lent and nice enough for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex Camille
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Angel hair makes this dish decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Camille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and it turned out great! No leftovers. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
My kids beg me to make this weekly. It is super easy and I follow the directions exactly. I have found that using uncooked shrimp is better as the precooked shrimp does end up a bit rubbery (my kids don't care though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Excellent Recipe! My husband loves pasta dishes. I did make a couple of additions. I added extra garlic and also onions and peppers. I would have added spinach also if I'd had any. I love to add veggies where possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States