Shrimp Scampi with Linguini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I used this recipe simply as a base for when I made it. The shrimps should be pulled straight out of the freezer, and fried right in butter and olive oil (put the oil in first then add the butter so the butter doesn't burn) until the shrimps are pink (you don't need to boil them at all, and this way they'll taste and look better anyway). Then instead of linguini use angel hair pasta and it'll go a lot better with the shrimp. Just make sure you remove the shrimp shells. I forgot to do this and my date had to pick them off individually before she ate them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le Chef de Fish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
We served this on Christmas Eve and everyone loved it. I made a few changes. I used 2 Lbs. of Shrimp (the frozen precooked kind and it was fine), increased the wine to 1 C and reduced the lemon juice to 2 Tbsps as suggested in other reviews. The rest of the recipe I kept the same. The flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I made no changes to the recipe. My husband and I both thought it was too lemony. If I make it again, I would only use a tablespoon of lemon juice,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe was delicious but I made extensive changes. First off, I reduced the amount of shrimp by about 3/4. Then I removed the shrimp after cooking them so they didn't overcook. Then I sauteed artichoke hearts, sliced caper berries, capers, and finely minced green peppercorns in the pan. Then I added zucchini. Finally seared the tomatoes and then th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evilchicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I made this recipe and it turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious! I used frozen pre-cooked shrimp and reduced the cooking time, increased the amount of garlic and reduced the amount of linguini. I also eliminated the red pepper (too hot). It turned out as a very succesful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Excellent! A couple recommended changes: 1) Go easy on the pasta. 1lb is too much. Try 3/4lb. 2) I love this with scallops! Be sure to start the scallops in the butter/oil a little before you add the shirmp. The scallops take longer to cook than shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This recipe is out of this world!!!! It is sooo good that its ridiculous. The only changes I made was to use only 1/2 cup of white wine and 1/4 cup of lemon juice..and seasoned to taste. I definitely will be making this again, and again. Just AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
this was the best !!! loved it, will e a regular on my menu. (didnt have any linguine so i used smart pasta yummmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
i loved it! And my picky wife, for the first time ever, got seconds! i omitted the red pepper and used paprika instead (saved a trip to the store)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States