Shrimp Scampi with Linguini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Oooooooh...so delicious! Took advice and used less lemon. When I do it again I will add the whole pint of tomatoes. Also, be careful not to put the shrimp in any longer than specified. They cook quick. Served over fresh angel hair. Whoa! And smells sensational when simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious! I used frozen pre-cooked shrimp and reduced the cooking time, increased the amount of garlic and reduced the amount of linguini. I also eliminated the red pepper (too hot). It turned out as a very succesful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
We liked this recipe a lot, I've tried it with the wine and I have also used chicken broth for a substitute. I used light stick butter the last time we made it and it tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Followed recipe as posted, wasn't impressed with the flavor power of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Simple, tasty recipe. I added a dash of Pickapeppa and a dash of cayenne pepper for some zip, and used canned diced tomatoes to make it saucier. Definitely cut back on the lemon juice, and watch the shrimp so it doesn't overcook. I also added fresh zuchinni. I will definitely make this again, but will get fresh seasonings, and maybe try adding some pesto and omitting the other stuff I added. Angel hair or thin spaghetti works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This recipe was not good at all. I used white wine as stated, a chardonnay, and it was unpleasantly flowery. Be careful with what wine you use for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
We served this on Christmas Eve and everyone loved it. I made a few changes. I used 2 Lbs. of Shrimp (the frozen precooked kind and it was fine), increased the wine to 1 C and reduced the lemon juice to 2 Tbsps as suggested in other reviews. The rest of the recipe I kept the same. The flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
great and easy! We added spinach and mushrooms at the the last minute and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmalavenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My husband and step-daughter said this was dish phenomenal. I did make a couple of minor changes though. I added two diced scallions when I added the garlic to the butter and olive oil. I may add a third next time. Per other’s advice, I used about half as much lemon as the recipe called for. I added an additional 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I added a wine slurry (additional 1/4 cup of wine and a tablespoon of corn starch) after the tomatoes had been in about a minute to thicken up the sauce along with three extra pads of butter (margarine). I served it over angel hair because that's my family's preference. Side salads and roasted garlic baguette . . . this is definitely a keeper for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I agree with Pattiann. This recipe had way too much lemon. My son loves shrimp, and he wouldn't even eat it because it was so lemony. I'd cut back significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States