Shrimp Scampi ala Norelllaura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AmberJo
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very enjoyable. Looks like it takes longer than it really does. Nice light and flavorful sauce that can easily be adjusted to suit your likes. This recipe is a keeper and will be replacing my usual scampi dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I made this tonight for my family. First time I have ever made shrimp scampi. Absolutely fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made this an my whole family loved it. Regarding comments from other reviewers, I cooked the garlic and peppers for 20 minutes, as I thought this would infuse the flavor into the oil more, which it did. I just had to adjust the temperature to ensure the oil did not boil and burn the peppers. Also regarding the flour. Next time I plan to sift the flour and use less, but I save the cooking liquid from the pasta and added about a cup back to the sauce to loosen it, I also added the pasta back to the sauce to finish cooking. Next time I will add more olive oil and garlic but less lemon. I may even experiment with finishing it with a tablespoon or two of cream. All in all this recipe is a winner because the base recipe works and there are infinite modifications you can make to suit your taste that work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC Loves to Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this for my wife because she loves shrimp scampi. This is now her preferred recipe. She has already asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Happy Chef
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Easy and delicious! I had never cooked shrimp before, but these came out cooked "to perfection." I used jarred roasted red peppers rather than raw because of their texture and flavor of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very easy and very flavorful. Have made 3 times already and have followed the recipe to a T. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panorama City, California, USA
Living In: Bermuda Dunes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Excellent recipe! One cup of flour was too much - a light dusting works great to thicken the sauce. Would also cut the amount lemon juice down - just alittle too tart. This is a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was delicious! My four year old loves the sauce but not seafood, so I threw some edamame in his pasta instead. So simple and wonderful. I did not use the flour step beause I used precooked shrimp and didn't want them chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medusa, New York, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This smells fabulous and tasted so great. I didn't have a red pepper so I used two large Roma tomatoes. The shrimp soaks up the garlic and red pepper and even my 6 year old ate several. The sauce was a little thicker than regular scampi and we loved that! My husband: "I would eat this again!" That's high praise! It didn't take as long as the time estimates given, but I had help peeling the shrimp. I started the oil and garlic in the pan and then started the pasta and by the time the pasta was done, I was removing the shrimp from the pan so I could crank up the heat to thicken it faster. It was done and on the table in about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was excellent. Easy & Simple. I did take the advice of some previous reviewers & 1) heated the bell pepper/red pepper prior to adding the garlic - 20 mins you'd end up w/ burned, bitter garlic 2) used less lemon juice (about 1 Tbsp) and 3) dusting the mixture w/ flour instead of dredging the shrimp & it was delicious. Just added salt & pepper upon finishing & served over penne pasta. Tangy, flavorful Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States