Shrimp Scampi ala Norelllaura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a very good recipe, but the cooking time is a little off. The peppers don't need to cook for 20 minutes, and in that amount of time the garlic gets very dark. I agree with vegascook - too much flour. 1/4 cup would probably be enough to dust the shrimp. The next time, though, I may skip the dusting and just sprinkle some flour into the skillet to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made this an my whole family loved it. Regarding comments from other reviewers, I cooked the garlic and peppers for 20 minutes, as I thought this would infuse the flavor into the oil more, which it did. I just had to adjust the temperature to ensure the oil did not boil and burn the peppers. Also regarding the flour. Next time I plan to sift the flour and use less, but I save the cooking liquid from the pasta and added about a cup back to the sauce to loosen it, I also added the pasta back to the sauce to finish cooking. Next time I will add more olive oil and garlic but less lemon. I may even experiment with finishing it with a tablespoon or two of cream. All in all this recipe is a winner because the base recipe works and there are infinite modifications you can make to suit your taste that work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC Loves to Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this for my wife because she loves shrimp scampi. This is now her preferred recipe. She has already asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
A very good and different scampi recipe! I did not use the flour on the shrimp, but did add a little cornstarch at the end to thicken, otherwise made it as directed and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This was really good. I did follow the advice of another and add 1 TBS of Honey. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I liked this recipe but the sauce was a bit too acidic, so i added about a tablespoon of honey. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmberJo
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very enjoyable. Looks like it takes longer than it really does. Nice light and flavorful sauce that can easily be adjusted to suit your likes. This recipe is a keeper and will be replacing my usual scampi dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Very good! I used some of the garlic oil to saute peppers and zucchini, steamed some snap peas, and added it all to the sauce in the end, topped with chopped turkey bacon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was yummy. I would however, agree with other reviewers, the amount of flour was way too much. Also the cooking time for the pepper, garlic, etc., mixture was too long. I served this over basmati rice and we really enjoyed it, but did follow other reviewers suggestions. Thanks so much for posting your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This recipe was great! My family all liked it, and had seconds. The sauce turns out thick and almost creamy, not too spicy at all. I had to use dried minced garlic instead of fresh, and all I had was frozen cooked shrimp. Since the shrimp was already cooked, I eliminated the step where you cook the shrimp, and it worked perfectly. I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because with proper ingredients (fresh shrimp anyone?) it would easily blow other scampis out of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States