Shrimp Scampi ala Norelllaura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very easy and very flavorful. Have made 3 times already and have followed the recipe to a T. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panorama City, California, USA
Living In: Bermuda Dunes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
The shrimp tasted good, but the sauce came out way to running and almost clumpy. It was too much work for what it was worth. I am sure that I will not make this again, there are easier and much quicker shrimp scampi recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very good. Only thing i did differently was use more like 6 or 7 cloves of garlic since i like garlic, and i only had an orange pepper, so used it instead of orange. Left out the red pepper flakes and added salt and pepper to taste. My 6 year old said when i told him what we were having "i'm only going to eat the shrimp" but then he gobbled up the pasta too in the sauce and like 10 shrimp! So 2 thumbs up for kids - as long as it's not spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Barry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I just wanted a good traditional scampi recipe and this one looked good, so I made this recipe last night. However, I altered it using 1.5 lbs of Tiger Prawns (cause that's what I had) and the juice of about 1 1/2 lemons (because I LOVE lemon on my seafood), 4 Tbsp butter, and did not do the peppers... I added some fresh ground peppper and some dry italian herb seasoning instead. I also added probably a full cup of wine. It turned out AWESOME! The only thing that went wrong was there may have been a little too much flour which made the sauce a little pastier than I would have liked. I just quickly dipped them in flour too, I didn't cake them in it. I did not know what "drudge" meant... still after having looked it up, I do not understand the context in the recipe. I ASSUMED it meant LIGHTLY FLOUR... LOL Still my light flouring was too much. Again, be careful too just dust them or skip the flour all together. In the end, my wife LOVED IT, and so did I!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulie Paisan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This recipe is a keeper. After reading the reviews, I added maybe 2 T of flour, which was perfect! I will definetely be making this one againm, Great for company!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was very easy to make But it lacked taste. Needs alot more garlic 2xs more same with the pepper flakes. Onions would be good to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yummy! Yummy! I made this as a special treat for my boyfriend. I doubled the sauce so there would be extra for bread soaking up. It was all very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I made a few changes to avoid going to the store, I used frozen pepper strips, and a can of diced tomatoes, oh and I used pre cooked shrimp. I was not too thrilled with the results. Maybe next time I will follow the recipe exactly, that is if there is a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My husband and I did not prefer the shrimp dusted with flour - though the idea sounded good. In our dinner, the flour stuck to the shrimp but the flour seemed to make the shrimp mushy. We did like the addition of the bell pepper- we also added broccoli which went well and heated up some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I cooked the initial ingredients for 20 minutes. That turned out quite fine on low heat. What I learned was that for half my party, they would like their own version. One wanted more garlic, while I actually found 2/3 cup of wine to be just a little too much. The texture was great, just perfect... the taste was excellent, although like I said, I'll use a little less wine next time, perhaps 1/2 cup. This is a pretty heavy meal although it doesn't seem it at the time you are eating. Overall, this is a really easy recipe that can be fit to taste over time. This was my first time making it, but definitely not my last. Having read the previous notes, I used about 1/2-3/4 cup flour and about 1.5 TBS of lemon juice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States