Shrimp Scampi ala Norelllaura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was delicious! Not bland at all like a few other reviewers wrote. My garlic cloves were the equal to 6 small ones. This needed a lot of garlic. Made a big difference. Luckily my tomatoes, red pepper & parsley came from my garden so everything was super fresh. I used penne pasta instead of rice. The sauce was so yummy. I may make this with chicken eventually. My shrimp were 16/20 & were fresh from the gulf coast. Made all the difference! Some people mentioned there was too much lemon juice! That was the key to the freshness of this dish. I would even use 3tb the next time. If the pasta absorbs the sauce, keep a 1/2 c of pasta water on hand to loosen it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Butcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
The whole Fam liked this. My snobby seafood husband, 10 yr old and myself. Next time I'd add more red pepper flakes and I threw in yellow and orange pepper in addition to the red. It made it sweet, hence maybe why I could have used more pepper flakes. I also crack blk pepper into the flour before dredging. I will def make this for company. With noodles and fresh bread and some asparagus you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This recipe was awesome and will replace my current scampi recipe. Thanks you Norelllaura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Just made it tonite and had to give it 5 stars, I read the other reviews and cut down on the lemon and cooked the bell peppers half the time, dipped the shrimp in the flour, then cooked it. The sauce thickens real nice and very nice flavor sauce. Served it over angel hair pasta, sprinkled a little fresh parm. cheese, my husband loved it! Will make this again,Mahalo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is an excellent scampi recipe, adding the chopped pepper and tomato gives it an extra kick, I also added a teaspoon of honey to cut back on the acid. I just sprinkled a little flour over the shrimp before cooking. I've never done this when making scampi before but it does help thicken the sauce, I served over spaghetti yummy! Thanks for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I hate to start my review on a bad foot, but.... This did not suit my hubs or I at all (sorry!). Not only was this nothing like any scampi we've ever had, it was overwhelmingly lemony and just plain odd tasting. I must admit, I had high hopes initially. The combination of ingredients sounded intriguing to me. The preparation method also appealed to me and despite others warnings, I went ahead and sauteed my garlic / bell peppers for 20 minutes as directed (gasp!). If you keep your heat source on the lowest setting possible, your garlic will NOT burn. Had I not sauteed my garlic for as long as I did, I wouldn't have even noticed it was a component of this dish (sautéing low and slow helps to infuse a nice, subtle garlic flavor). For those of you wanting to give this a try, I have two suggestions to offer. First, cut the amount of lemon juice in HALF (or at least to 1.5 T)! Lastly, start with 1/4 c. flour and increase if necessary. The key is to LIGHTLY dredge your shrimp. A quarter cup of flour was spot on - my sauce was slightly thickened as it should be, not pasty as it could have been. Served over jasmine rice with a side of garlic herb pasta (found in my grocer's frozen foods section) and garlic breadsticks, this was an "OK" meal. Although I won't be making this again, I'm glad to have given your recipe a try. Thanks anyways, NORELLAURA. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was super delicious! I do agree a cup is WAY to much flour so I used a good quarter cup which worked great. No parsley here but still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This dish was amazing. I used a half a cup of flour instead of a cup and used a bell pepper instead of a red one and it still turned out fantastic. also added more garlic. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Mmmmmm! I volunteer as a cook at a local hospice. Today I asked one resident what he'd like and he was unsure. As soon as I suggested shrimp with garlic and butter, he was sure that's what he wanted. I gave this a try and it was fabulous! I omitted the red bell pepper and added some butter with the olive oil in the first step (fat and calories are not an issue with people in their final days!). Of course when they could smell the garlic and then the shrimp the employees and the other volunteer were drawn to the kitchen for a sample! It was unanimous - this recipe is a winner. Thank you, Laura, for bringing some enjoyment to dear Vincent. He won't be with us much longer but today he's eating well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is an excellent recipe!! I have also been trying different scampi recipes in search of the perfect one... without going to a restaurant, and this is it! The length of cooking time in the beginning can be reduced, especially if you tend to burn garlic easily. The amount of flour is not really critical either. It depends on your shrimp and the leftover is discarded anyhow. I added a touch of honey too after reading the reviews, but don't know if it was even necessary. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States