Shrimp Scampi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I'm giving this a 4.5. It's yummy! My husband just made this dish with a few changes. We didn't have any wine, so he used about 3/4 cup of Dry Sherry. He sauteed some chopped onion and garlic in about 1/2 the butter this recipe called for. Then added the sherry, broth, and red pepper flakes. He skipped the flour as was suggested by others. He used the juice of an entire lemon and it wasn't too lemony. The sauce was allowed to reduce a little and then he added about 1/2 cup pasta water to reconstitute it a bit. He added the shrimp at the very end and allowed it to cook in the sauce. Next time we'd add some mushrooms, artichoke hearts, and/or shallot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This recipe as written was very bland, it was just missing something I couldn't pinpoint. I had to add more worcestershire sauce, some red pepper flakes, & parmesan cheese to add some flavor to it. Sorry, we just didn't like this one that well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH441

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly, but after reading the reviews, I was careful to only very lightly flour the shrimp. I liked how this made the shrimp a little crispy, I didn't find it gooey at all. I thought the flavor was perfect, but in an attempt to trim down the fat, I think I will halve the butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna1982

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is a fool-proof and fast recipe. I made this with some pasta and the flavors were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrCookiePR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
this recipe was excellent, somewhat like i had at a nearby restaurant, Tiffanys in Clinton, nj. I butterflied the shrimps, dusted them with flour and refrigerated them for about one hour, then fried them quickly. I served them over ramen noodles adding just a dash of the chicken flav in the packet. I also sprinkled fresh parm cheese on top.Next ime I might even add some good sundried tomatoes diced up for color and flavor. My picky husband even loved this recipe I will make it for guests. june
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Great scampi! My daughter loves this recipe. I dont flour the shrimp just cook them in the pan and then to thicken the sauce I add some cornstarch and it still turns out great! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My husband and I thought this recipe was great! However, next time, we will not add the floured shrimp back into the sauce but rather pour the sauce mixture overthe floured shrimp just before serving to prevent the shrimp becoming gluggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kazza

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lancaster, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
It was okay. Not great not awful. I replaced half of the wine with chicken broth as I am not a big fan of white wine in cooking. Everything else I left the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This sauce was very thin and did not thicken up well for me. I found it WAY too buttery, and I only used 7 TBSP of butter. You can definitely reduce the amount of butter used. Also, based on other user's comments, I did not flour the shrimp, but used ready to eat shrimp and just tossed them in at the end to heat up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Delish...but next time I will drop the lemon down a couple of tbsp...but still DELISH@!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States